Lx150 carburator trouble, help
Post Reply    Forum -> General Discussion
gts 300, lx 150
Tue Jul 24, 2012 11:53 am quote
i recently bought a 2007 lx15o with a 100 miles on it. i have driven it for a few hundred mile until it started stalling out. i thought that the carb might be dirty so i added sea foam and ran it a few times.

now it turns over sometimes but when it does the idle is very erradic until it stalls and then it won't turn over again until i leave it for a day or so and does the same thing again.

i am kinda lost now and don't know what to do so i could use some advice.
Enthusiast
2005 GT 200L
Tue Jul 24, 2012 12:03 pm quote
I am not an expert but I had the same prob with my GT200. I disconnected the evap system an problem solved.
Veni, Vidi, Posti
2007 Vespa LX 190, 2011 LXV150ie
Tue Jul 24, 2012 1:14 pm quote
It could indeed be the evap system, but I'd also pull the idle jet out and give it a proper cleaning. There are some clogs even SeaFoam won't dissolve!
gts 300, lx 150
Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:26 am quote
i disconnected the evap tube that ran to the carb. it now runs consistently, but with little power, erratic idle, some white smoke out of the muffler, and drips of gas out the evap connection on the carb. i am planning on pulling the carb and cleaning the idle jet. this could still be the issue, right?

thanks again for the help
Veni, Vidi, Posti
Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:46 am quote
Hmm. A clogged idle jet could certainly account for the erratic idle, but the white smoke and drips from the evap connection on the carb are a mystery.

White exhaust smoke is common on any internal combustion engine until it warms up, especially in certain weather conditions. It's usually just water vapor.
still shopping
Wed Jul 25, 2012 9:18 am quote