Smallframe with a P200 engine?
Post Reply    Forum -> Not-So-Modern 12345678Next
Molto Verboso

Sun Feb 05, 2017 6:33 pm quote
So what is the current consensus about stuffing a P200 engine in a Smallframe? I have a spare PK frame and a spare P2 engine laying around the shop. I was thinking about putting the two together. I have plenty of fab experience, so it isn't a problem for me to mate them together. The PK 50 frame is from the mid '80s, and the P2 engine is all stock (will be using the 24/24 carb). I have a extra Sito+ or a Simonimi exhaust I can use on it (I think I might have a JL right somewhere in my shop?).
Anyhow, we all know it's a tight fit...very tight...probably have to remove the rear shock bolt and swing down the engine to remove the sparkplug tight.
I'm mainly curious about the handling once the two are together. I consider the Smallframe motor's weight fairly balance in the frame compared to that of a Largeframe's engine. Once a 80lb (I'm just guessing the weight) P2 engine is in the back of a PK am I asking for crazy handling issues? Will the PK look aesthetically unbalanced? I'm not looking to build a show winner here, but I'd like to build something fun and unique that has some sort of feng shui to it. Does anyone have any 1st or 2nd hand experience seeing or riding one of these?
And yes, I know that there are now many, many manufactures that make a cylinder kit for the Smallframe to make it faster than a P2, but that's not what I'm interested in doing.

Here's a link to my findings of the differences between a 20mm PX fork and a 16mm P fork, and what it would take to possibly install it in a PK50XL.... P fork and headset on a PK

Last edited by whodatschrome on Wed Mar 14, 2018 12:43 pm; edited 2 times in total
Addicted
1974VLB 1979VSX 1974V9A

Sun Feb 05, 2017 6:59 pm quote