2009 MP3 250ie OBD plug
Post Reply    Forum -> MP3 Discussion
Piaggio Mp3
Mon Feb 10, 2020 5:17 pm quote
I have a sick MP3 250 and was trying to rig up some software to connect to my ECU and read the CEL code(s).

I canít seem to find the ODB plug. I found pictures that looked like it was near the edge under the seat access port.

Symptoms I am dealing with:
It ran fine all summer but when the temperatures dropped it wonít start/idle. I think winter killed the battery so I could use suggestions there as well.

My plan is to clean the throttle body, use some sea foam and swap the battery out. Then see what the ECU is telling me and go from there.

I am a new MP3 mechanic but I have tools etc from maintaining and working on cars much of my life.

Thanks!
Rusd
Hooked
2009 Vespa GTS300 S
Mon Feb 10, 2020 5:21 pm quote
I would start by checking the battery. Below 11.5V you will have issues.
Piaggio Mp3
Mon Feb 10, 2020 7:10 pm quote
Go to battery for Mp3
I measured it today, and it is 12.2v ish (fluctuates)

If I flip the starter though it drops to 9-10 and cranks pretty slowly so I am pretty sure it isn't happy.

Is there a battery that everyone loves on here for these things?

Thanks
Russ
Hooked
2015 MP3 500 ie Business
Hooked
2015 MP3 500 ie Business
Tue Feb 11, 2020 4:21 am quote
One more thing, Yuasa YTX14H-BS AGM battery for the win. The H denotes the high performance variant with at least 10% more cranking power over the standard battery.

As an upgrade, you can install the Yuasa GYZ16H but the price is almost double over the standard YTX14

Just be sure to follow these 3 simple steps for longest battery life prior to installing. 1) After adding the acid pack, let the battery sit for 1 hour without pressing in the capstrip. 2) After 1 hour has passed, press in the capstrip. 3) Recharge the battery using a 1Amp smart charger (such as Optimate 4) overnight or about 12 hours whichever comes first.