OP
UTC

Lurker

Lurker
UTC quote
Hi All,

Looking to get an older MP3 (ideally 250 as I just want something for kicking around town), but I'm new to all things fewer-than-four-wheels, and I remember someone telling me that, all things being equal, a five-year-old motorcycle will be in worse shape than a five-year-old car. (Something about engine vibrations?)

It sounds like the plural of anecdote to me, but I don't know enough about bikes to dismiss it out of hand.

Any thoughts?

Thanks.
@new200guy avatar
UTC

Addicted
2019 MP3 500hpe Sport

Addicted
@new200guy avatar
2019 MP3 500hpe Sport
UTC quote
I have a 2008 400 and it is holding up well. I have about 37000km's on it and it runs great. It is all about how well the previous owner did with maintenance. Make sure that you can verify all the work done and you should be ok.
@klaborde avatar
UTC

Ossessionato
2009 MP3/250, 2012 GTS Super 300ie

Ossessionato
@klaborde avatar
2009 MP3/250, 2012 GTS Super 300ie
UTC quote
Re: How Well Do Older MP3s Hold Up?
rcinla wrote:
Hi All,

Looking to get an older MP3 (ideally 250 as I just want something for kicking around town), but I'm new to all things fewer-than-four-wheels, and I remember someone telling me that, all things being equal, a five-year-old motorcycle will be in worse shape than a five-year-old car. (Something about engine vibrations?)

It sounds like the plural of anecdote to me, but I don't know enough about bikes to dismiss it out of hand.

Any thoughts?

Thanks.
It depends if you are a Rider that does your own Maintenance.

I personally consider the MP3/250 as a "Collector".

It has the traditional 250cc Engine found on many other Vespa/Piaggio/Aprilla Scoots, so parts will be easy to obtain for years.
You can also find parts on ebay.com but be careful not to overpay for them. Compare the Dealer/Online Seller Price vs what it can be obtained as New...