Scootistan 2016
Post Reply    Forum -> Ride Reports
Ossessionato
2010 Vespa GTS 300, 2007 Vespa GTS 250, 2007 Vespa GTV, 2010 Stella 4T #3, and a bunch of broke down vintage scoots
Wed Aug 31, 2016 2:41 pm quote
Those of you who know me, know that I have a thing for going on epic scooter rides... like riding my P200 from Delaware to Québec and back for a vacation in 1993, or a couple thousand miles from PA to NOLA and back for Amerivespa in 2011, or the five Cannonballs I took part in between 2006 through 2014, including a run from Santa Cruz to Alaska that incorporated an Iron Butt 1000 just to get to the start of the 2014 Cannonball, or the French Alps in 2015. But this year I'm doing something different that I've never done before... in just over a week from now, I will be scooting through Pakistan on an adventure that I am calling "Scootistan".

Wait, what? Pakistan? Who goes to Pakistan?? And to ride a scooter, no less?!?

Perhaps its not your typical tourist destination, but by all accounts, it is a hidden jewel that is overlooked by most. For the past several years, my friend Moin Khan has organized and led motorcycle tours in Pakistan, up the Karakoram Highway from Islamabad into the Himalayas, all the way to the Chinese border and back. Several people I know who have gone on his tours have come back raving about the ride, the people, and the scenery. However, Moin doesn't just ride motorcycles, he also owns a VBB, which he rode on the same route all by himself several years ago, so it absolutely is something that can be done on a Vespa... and here's the video he made of that ride: