Cold weather riding
Post Reply    Forum -> General Discussion
Addicted
Kymco People 150 (sold), Suzuki TU 250 (sold), 2010 Triumph Bonneville T100, 2006 Vespa GTS 250ie
Sun Dec 11, 2016 1:44 pm quote
Had put the Vespa to bed for the winter but decided to wake it up for a quick errand today after sitting in an unheated garage in cold weather with the battery on a tender. When I hit the stater she did a deep hesitation before cranking with the code light lit. Light went out, and let it warm up. While riding in 33 degree weather the temperature was flashing on the cluster as if to say WHAT ARE YOU DOING, YOU BROKE THE DEAL! Do Vespas generally hate cold weather that much or is mine just being a bitch?

w.
Enthusiast
2016 GTS300 SS
Sun Dec 11, 2016 2:43 pm quote
Hiya!

So I'm new to the world of Vespa, but I've been riding mine non-stop here in DC as the weather has been getting pretty cold. My bike is new with only 550 miles so far but it seems to be fine in the freezing temps. I was out for about an hour long trip 3 times this weekend and the only thing I noticed was that the idle was a little rough even after warming up until it was on the road for 5-10 minutes.

One of the things that drew me to Vespa over just a Triumph T100 was that it seemed easier to ride all year long. There are tons of people on this site that ride in all weather year-round.

On a side note, how often do you ride your T100 vs. the Vespa? I think I'd like to pick one up (I've ridden them a few times and love it) in the Spring. My concern is that I would just ride the Vespa all the time and the T100 wouldn't get enough road time.
Veni, Vidi, Posti
MP3 500, GTS 250 (both 2008 MY), 2010 Can Am Spyder RT-S, 2012 Honda NC700 DCT
Sun Dec 11, 2016 2:51 pm quote
I'm thinking something is a bit up with the carb.
But it ran, so if it was mine I'd just enjoy the ride.

... He says, 8" of snow on the front lawn....
Hooked
2006 250ie
Sun Dec 11, 2016 2:57 pm quote
Re: Cold weather riding
Bald Wasp wrote: