A couple of days in the desert...
Post Reply    Forum -> Ride Reports
Vespa 300 gts
Sat Dec 17, 2016 10:45 pm quote
Hey folks…

So... this is my first attempt at this whole blog thing... so here it goes...

Been doing the Scoot thing for a few years, but decided to start doing some longer trips. Wanted to combine my love of Scootering with my love of travel and photography.

I'm in San Diego, and am planning on a trip up highway 1 to San Francisco and back in the spring. I decided to do all of my Scooter modifications and get the equipment all set up and do a couple of shorter trips to shake out the set up.

Here's my first attempt... I just love the desert, and it's usually nice and warm in the winter here in SoCal... so decided to do a couple of days and head up toward Joshua Tree National Park. Love that place for pics and camping... Here's the route...

IMG_0041.PNG
A little bit of everything... Starbucks in Ramona... a piece of pie in Julian... great mountain roads... down into the desert... Salton Sea... Joshua Tree and back. So much varied scenery and cool places to camp and take some pictures...

Vespa 300 gts
Sat Dec 17, 2016 11:42 pm quote
Me again...
So... tried twice to add to this post and have failed... hopefully third time is a charm...

I'm a lurker? How am I a lurker? How do I stop being a lurker?

So... off in the morning... start up Highland Valley Road... for all you folks in SD... a great ride... lots of curves... elevation changes... takes you out to the Wild Animal Park... then up to Ramona... Starbucks... wake up a bit... then through to the Old Julian Highway... another great road... curves... Wineries... Camels... Ostriches... Llamas... and into Santa Ysabel... for apple cupcake... then through Julian... and down into the desert...