Is there an epidemic of Vespa thefts in North London?
Post Reply    Forum -> General Discussion 12345678910Next
Lurker
Vespa GTS 300
Wed Mar 29, 2017 3:24 pm quote
Hi there.

I'm a newbie, both to this forum and to owning a Vespa. But I wish I were happier about becoming a Vespa owner.

It's nothing to do with the bike itself - having had a lowkey Yamaha for quite a while, I was very happy to trade up to a new Vespa GTS 300 a month ago. But what has happened since then has been a nightmare.

On day 2 of owning the bike, it was stolen from outside my house. It had two locks on it (one locked to a lamppost), an immobiliser and a tracker. I also live on a fairly busy street in North London. None of that stopped thieves, in the wee hours of the morning, using angle grinders to zip through the locks, then drilled the ignition and off they went. I got a call from the tracking company and with the police recovered the scooter quickly - it was temporarily dumped about 1km from my house. I thought I was mighty unlucky, got the moped repaired and quickly rented space in a secure garage nearby.

All was was fine until last week, when I got another call from the tracking company, this time at 4am. And again it had been taken about 1km away from my house and again the police and I were with the scooter very quickly. Again, I had to have damage repaired (more done this time, plus they stole my helmet and gloves out of the top box, which they broke). At least there was CCTV footage for the police to use but I don't know if that was of any use. Much more worrying was that the thieves got into a gated garage that requires keyfob access and then got away again, once they'd used the angle grinders to get through the various locks on the bike.