OP
UTC

2006 Vespa GT200

2006 Vespa GT200
UTC quote
Hi all,

I have found this forum very helpful in the past for getting a good idea of what the problems I'm facing are, and taking it to various mechanics in my new smaller town area has not yielded great results.

As a primer, I'm gonna come out and say I am still learning the basics of Vespa machinery and the ins and outs of how the engine works etc so I am repeating what mechanics have explained to me. I also apologize in advance for the narrative - I just want to get all the symptoms and situation out there

A few months back I started experiencing some overheating issues with my 2006 Vespa GT200 - I took it to a mechanic in the area and he told me that the coolant needed to be flushed and replaced. He did that, the next 30min + drive I took, the vespa drove there with a temperature spike towards the end. I let it sit for 4 hours before driving back and did not get down the road before the temperature rapidly climbed and the coolant boiled over everywhere. I had to be towed back to the same mechanic, who then replaced the temperature gauge and water pump, in order to fix the cooling system, fan included.

After that it ran well for about two months before it began getting overheated even on short trips (past the top blue indicator). Took it to the same mechanic who told me that the coolant was leaking into the engine due to a broken gasket, which would involve taking the whole engine out, and replacing said gasket, materially inexpensive, but labor intensive and expensive - He recommended I take it to a dealer to get that done if that was the route I wanted to go.