Bogging at first 1/4 throttle [SOLVED with new motor]
Post Reply    Forum -> Not-So-Modern 1234Next
Banned
'01 ET4; '65 VBB Restomod with P200E engine, '67 VW Type 1, '80 Airstream
Tue Jun 05, 2018 11:26 am quote
Hello! I am new to the forum
I have a 1966 VBB, restored in USA with an LML 5 port engine.

it bogs at the first 1/4 throttle and has done this since first cranked. After the first 1/4 throttle it really takes off and runs great going down the road. it got a little better after a low speed jet change and a little time, but now after a long ride it has gotten worse.

I found a video on youtube that shows exactly what mine is doing.

So far I have changed the carb base gasket and reed block gaskets. I am about to go and make sure all the case bolts are tight. Outside of that I really don't know other than a crank seal issue? I am rather new to 2 cycles but I have tools and many years of experience using them on 4 cycle.

I am hoping someone will recognize this issue and tell me what it is ! love the forum ! thanks !

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=47YYNBm6Hog

Last edited by Tradspa on Mon Apr 08, 2019 2:17 pm; edited 2 times in total
Ossessionato
1976 Super (x 2), 1974 Primavera (x 2), 2006 Fly 150
Tue Jun 05, 2018 12:04 pm quote
Welcome to the forum.

Could be something as simple as the mixture needing adjustment. It would help to know what carburetor you have, and what jets are currently in it.
Veni, Vidi, Posti
'07 LX150 (Sold), '17 GTS300, '16 BV350, '15 EN650, '09 FXDF
Tue Jun 05, 2018 12:08 pm quote
Welcome Tradspa! Glad you found us.

Visit often. Post oftener.
Veni, Vidi, Posti
74 50s x3 78 P200 84 Cosa 58 AllState 68 Sprint 80 50special + projects
Tue Jun 05, 2018 12:15 pm quote
I agree w/ SCG, check this first. Mixture screw adjustment, got a good link?
Ossessionato
I have a few scooters....
Tue Jun 05, 2018 1:04 pm quote