Big bore jetting - lx 50 big bore plug read help please!
Post Reply    Forum -> Project Reports
Lurker
Lx 50
Tue Jun 04, 2019 6:07 pm quote
Hi all,

been lurking here a while and finally bit the bullet and bought the big bore kit. 2009 Lx 50 2 valve. Did the big bore, cam, variator, and malossi filter this weekend.

So I live in Denver - 5280ft.

I put a brand new plug in and fully gassed it around the block with the stock #75 jet and then cleaned the plug up and put the #80 jet in and did the same. Here are the two. The #75 is the one with white and the other is the #80. I've never done this before - what do you guys think?

The white on the 75 indicates to me that it's way to lean - as expected. I know you want a mocha color, so is the 80 too rich?

When I watched the ScooterWest video where they install all the same stuff, they're in San Diego and put in a #80 . . . With that reasoning #80 would be too rich for me here in Denver.

Any help or advice from some more experienced folks would be much appreciated.

IMG_6653.PNG

IMG_6654.PNG

Ossessionato
73 Rally, 74 Rally, 76 ET3, 80 P200, 63 Li125, 65 Li225 Silver Special, 86 Elite 80, 2015 HD Road Glide Special, 2011 Ural Tourist
Tue Jun 04, 2019 9:04 pm quote
I dont know about 4 stroke tuning only two stroke, but Iíll chime in for now. Iím happy to learn if things are different between the two.

With a two stroke plug chop, you need a few miles at wide open to accurately see how the engine is burning at its hottest point. Run it, cut the ignition, coast to a stop, immediately remove and replace the spark plug for each jet. Then you need to cut back the threads (hack saw/ Dremel tool) to see the base of the white insulator. Itís cone shaped and you want to see it at the widest part. That should be starting to form a ring. Look at the color of the ring. Perfect is coffee brown. If its tan, keep upjetting.