What happens when belt breaks?
Post Reply    Forum -> General Discussion Previous12
Hooked

Thu Jun 06, 2019 10:48 am quote
Motovista wrote:
Bueller wrote:
https://advrider.com/f/threads/wheel-lock-up-at-speed-with-mechanical-failure.817414/#post-26854294

https://advrider.com/f/threads/wheel-lock-up-at-speed-with-mechanical-failure.817414/#post-37291909

https://advrider.com/f/threads/wheel-lock-up-at-speed-with-mechanical-failure.817414/page-2#post-37300688

It can happen. It’s not all that common, but if the pieces jam the clutch bell badly enough you will get a lockup.

One thing I learned during the three decades I worked as a master auto tech, shop foreman, and almost 10 years with Harley - just when I think it’s not possible, someone proves it is!
If you have a good scooter, with good parts that are in working order, and everything has been put together correctly, the odds are significant that a broken belt will not lock up the rear wheel.
That applies to any vehicle. For scooters in particular, if everything is assembled correctly and in good working order why would a belt fail at all?

Why is it such a stretch to believe a belt could break, wad up between the clutch bell and the case and lock the wheel? While I agree it is not common, it has happened and still does happen on occasion. Personally I’m not cheap enough to try to push belt life. I change them as recommended (In fact I think I bought my last one from Scooter Parts Co) because I don’t want to have to deal with being stranded or with potential safety issues.
eeee-bip
Benelli TNT 125 "Bean Alley" Kymco AK550 The War to end all Wars
Thu Jun 06, 2019 11:20 am quote
Ask
Anyone fancy an Ice Cream ?

Bill x
Moderaptor
The Hornet (GT200, aka Love Bug) and 'Dimples' - a GTS 300
Thu Jun 06, 2019 11:37 am quote
Motovista wrote: