Courthouse Oyster Tour
Post Reply    Forum -> Ride Reports
Ossessionato
2006 Vespa GT (Rocket): 2005 Vespa GT (Razzo): 2007 Vespa GT (Vanessa): 2009 Yamaha Zuma 125 (Zoom): 2018 Yamaha Xmax (Max),
Sat Jun 29, 2019 1:54 pm quote
I had been thinking that it would be a fun way to see the entire state of Florida by visiting the county seats of all 67 counties. And the best building in most of these towns is the county courthouse.

So Ken and I begin with five counties near Lake Okeechobee.

The idea would be to park our scooters in front of each of them as we ride the state.

It was an especially good idea for me as I am an architect practicing occasionally in the field of architectural preservation. I always admire the courthouses when riding past. It was time to see them close

This weekend kicked it off.

We started at the Jacaranda Hotel in Avon Park.

The first courthouse heading south is the Highlands County Courthouse in Sebring.

We stopped there and as we were taking photos, a dapper attorney was passing by. Ken asked if he would pose for a few shots and he obliged nicely.

We stayed outside but between that and the next one, Ken decided that we should go inside each.

Next was the Okeechobee County Courthouse in Okeechobee. This is one where the old, historic courthouse became too small for the bustling community, so they built a new, totally architecturally inferior building as a replacement. Disappointed, we took a few photos of this mess, but as we were riding out, I noticed a fine building that had to have been the County Courthouse that was replaced. So we stopped there and found that it was. An attorney leaving the building, and a plaque let us know that we were right. We went inside, admired the detailing and design and headed to the next one.

That was the Glades County Courthouse in Moore Haven. It is a historic courthouse with the classic Greek Temple front with a yellow brick body.