Head for the Lakes 2019 ride
Post Reply    Forum -> Ride Reports
Ossessionato
73 Rally, 74 Rally, 76 ET3, 80 P200, 63 Li125, 65 Li225 Silver Special, 86 Elite 80, 2015 HD Road Glide Special, 2011 Ural Tourist
Fri Sep 20, 2019 3:29 am quote
Itís the end of summer and its time for my annual scooter trip. The minions were chomping at the bit to ride and we sure did! I donít know when or what circumstances helped me come up with my idea this year but Big Bear Lake, CA popped into my head and I ran with it. Years ago I was an adult snowboarding instructor there but havenít been back since. I thought it would be great to take the scooter pals there as its got a mountain atmosphere, a lake, there was some familiarity with the route and it is still close enough that folks could make it home quickly should an emergency arise. I noticed there were a lot of lakes on the route so the ďHead For the LakesĒ name was born.

Doing my best planning while ďpretendingĒ to work the graveyard shift the months prior, I found an accommodating cabin, some good routes, gas stations, shops and rallied the crew. This year M/V users Socalguy, Ronindamascus, Googie, my friends Mike and Yancy and I were the riders with my girlfriend Stacy providing support truck duties.

Friday morning we all gathered at my house and were on the road by 10 for the long days ride to Big Bear. Stacy wasnít quite ready so she stayed behind to wrap up the last bit and then meet us for lunch.

I rode my trusty and rusty stock P200 with the only performance parts being a modified head and a SIP Touring flywheel, Socalguy rode his modified Super 170, Ronin rode his heavily modified PX177, Googie christened her new to her stock Rally 200, Yancy was on his bone stock P200 and Mike rode his stock GTS300.