Shorter inseam, is this a problem?
Post Reply    Forum -> General Discussion
2020 GTS HPE 300
Fri Nov 29, 2019 11:50 pm quote
I have a 29.5 inch inseam, and canít put my feet flat on the ground. I have the balls of my feet flat and the rest of my foot is probably just and inch or two above the pavement. I have personally had no issues keeping control of my GTS 300 even on various slopes. Iím only 105 pounds or so and not exactly in good shape physically.

Reading older posts, it seems like a lot of people donít like it if they canít have their entire foot on the ground. As a newbie, I now am wondering if I might have possible issues in the future I am too inexperienced to be aware of. Am I missing something, or is that simply personal preference? Thanks.
Addicted
Vespa PX 177 Settantesimo
Sat Nov 30, 2019 1:15 am quote
I wouldn't worry about it too much. When I was in Vietnam I saw many small girls on scooters who could not flat foot. I guess you adapt to what you have.
Ossessionato
2016 Vespa GTS300ie abs/asr/ess Settantesimo '70'
Sat Nov 30, 2019 2:21 am quote
Flat footing is not required. Half the riders of powered two wheeler cannot flat foot their bikes, especially the bigger bikes. As long as you are confident you can touch the ground comfortably with at least one foot and you watch out for uneven ground as you are coming to a stop, sloping cambers on the roads etc, then you shouldn't have any issues.
Ossessionato
Triumph Street Scrambler 2018, Suzuki VanVan200 (sold), 2015 Sprint 125 (sold)
Sat Nov 30, 2019 2:27 am quote
I'm a short male, inseam almost exactly like yours.

If you can touch to the ground with your both feet at the same time, you should be fine in most situations.

The handicap of being short, or bikes being tall , is mainly present when moving the bike around at stand still, "duck walking" with it. The heavier the bike, the more you'd wish to have your feet solidly on the ground. If you feel OK now with the GTS, then everything is OK