ET4 150 Leader / Walbro won't start
Post Reply    Forum -> General Discussion 12Next
2002 ET4
Sat Apr 25, 2020 2:40 pm quote
Hi Everyone,

First let me say thanks to all those with knowledge who share it here. Second let me say I've looked at a lot of posts about ET4's that won't start but none are quite like my situation. (I have no experience with scooters but work on all my cars myself) The post is long because I wanted to get as much detail in as I could. Here goes:

2002 ET4 150 Leader engine, Walbro carb. 1400 miles. Bought recently from a friend. Had been stored for approx 2 years. Like new condition. See picture.
Gas drained before storing so no bad gas issues.

I took it to a shop & they wanted $1100 to do all kinds of stuff to it. ($70 just to look at it. $95/hr shop rate seemed like a lot to me). That's more than I paid for it and from everything I'd seen online that made no sense to me.

Took it home (last week). Put a new battery in it. Put 87 octane gas in it but added a bottle of octane boost when I realized it's supposed to get 91 octane. Only filled to about 1/2 tank so I don't think I flooded the evap canister. It started & idled but would die when I tried to throttle it up.

Removed & cleaned the carb after watching you tube video. The last person to disassemble the carb had used blue gasket seal in addition to the factory gasket on the float bowl. I had to use air pressure to "blow" the float bowl off. Some of the blue stuff had gotten inside the bowl. I cleaned all of it I saw. Idle jet was blocked. Got it opened. No tears in diaphragm. It started & I rode it several miles.

Noticed it hesitated a lot on acceleration and when coming to a stop. Ran GREAT when on main circuit.