What do you all think of this smallframe Blue Badge?
Post Reply    Forum -> Not-So-Modern Previous123Next
Enthusiast
'66 Sears Cruisaire Smallframe
Tue Aug 11, 2020 3:32 pm quote
I'm no expert, but... that clutch doesn't look very good.

Hooked
1964 GS160, 1966 90ss, 1976 Sprint Veloce

Tue Aug 11, 2020 5:18 pm quote
r_fostoria wrote:
I'm no expert, but... that clutch doesn't look very good.

That will clean up fine. You're going to throw away the cork plates when you rebuild it, and the rest of the clutch it pretty heavy duty metal. I just rebuilt my clutch today and it wasn't that much better. I soaked everything overnight in CLR and scrubbed all of the rust off with a brass brush.

Those bearings are shot though.

IMG_8704.jpeg

Enthusiast
Mon Aug 17, 2020 11:24 am quote
I think I ****ed it up. I bought one of the clutch removal tools that inserts into the center of the clutch, and it arrived today. It didn't seem to fit right, but I got impatient and just forced it on there (which I should really know better than) and I'm pretty sure it ended up just stripping out the clutch basket threads. I can't even get it back on there now. Is there an alternative way to go about doing this?
Enthusiast
Mon Aug 17, 2020 3:39 pm quote
I jumped to the next step and wiggled the cases apart. I can separate the two halves a decent amount, but the shaft with the clutch seems to be holding both halves together. What is actually holding that in on the other side, a bearing I would guess? Would it just slide out and stay attached if I got the clutch off properly? What is actually holding the clutch in at this point (it is ON there)? It's all a bit frustrating not actually knowing how the engine is designed and what it's supposed to look like when everything comes apart smoothly.
Addicted
GL, PK, PE200 with hack, Sears Rust Badge
Mon Aug 17, 2020 5:58 pm quote
r_fostoria wrote: