Vespa does not start without giving it gas
Post Reply    Forum -> General Discussion
Lurker
2016 Piaggio Primavera 50cc
Tue Sep 08, 2020 5:04 am quote
Hi,

I am new to the scooter world. I bought a used 2016 Primavera 50cc. I did not ride it for months and did not start it during that time. I did have trouble starting last week and eventually after twisting the throttle before starting it finally started but died after giving it gas; on another attempt it idled high before idling low and dying. The next day I did the same thing but took off while it was still idling high and that day I had no issues. The Vespa sat for two days and when I went to start it it wouldn't kick over unless I gave it a little gas. I was wondering if anyone would be able to steer me in the right direction before taking it to mechanic. Do you think it needs a carb clean or could the gas be old (at least 6 months) or something else? My guess is I shouldn't have to give it gas to start the scooter.

Thanks!
Addicted
Bashan 150, CF Moto Fashion 250
Tue Sep 08, 2020 6:18 am quote
Throw a cap full of Seafoam in the tank and ride it. There could be some ethanol crud over the idle jet. Time, miles and Seafoam may clear it up.
Lurker
Tue Sep 08, 2020 9:13 am quote
Roger that. I will give it a try and send an update.
Addicted
BV 350
Tue Sep 08, 2020 10:49 am quote
How many months
Modern fuels, especially those with ethanol, can go bad in a month or two. You can avoid that with Sta-bil or other fuel stabilizer. If you didn't use one, I'd say siphon out as much gas as you can, replace it with fresh gas, add a little fuel system cleaner, and you should be fine. Without replacing the fuel, you might find that it runs pretty crappy until you put fresh fuel in.
Tue Sep 08, 2020 11:03 am quote
I think this is because your vespa fuel tank contains old gas.
My vespa did same when I try to start after a couple of weeks, it's start after few attempts.
Lurker
Tue Sep 08, 2020 2:47 pm quote
Re: How many months