CDI I stall/Spark Plug Boot look OK?
Post Reply    Forum -> General Discussion
2004 GT now a 2002 ET2
Mon Oct 12, 2020 12:35 pm quote
Novice here. I have this new to me 2002 Vespa ET with a no spark issue. I just ordered a CDI which I installed today, can't say that looking up the wires to the new CDI was the easiest think I've done. I tried to pull back the rubber sleeve to the wires so I could see they were going in. I took a pic of the CDI where the wires go in and the connection to the spark plug wire. I pulled the wire off the old CDI and it looks like it barely has any wire showing that is supposed to connect to the CDI box. The small rubber boot will hold it on but is this enough to make the electrical connection or am I missing something? I saw a pic online of another spark plug boot that looks like it plugs into the CDI. Is this small wire exposed sufficient to do the trick? Thanks for any advice.

IMG_9941.JPG

IMG_9940.JPG

Lurker
Vespa ET4 124cc
Mon Oct 12, 2020 12:59 pm quote
Screw the HT lead in
New to the forum and my first reply. Have seen similar on classic cars. The HT lead screws into the little pin you can see which in fact is a screw. The rubber boot then pushes on. A tiny bit of silicon grease or WD40 helps. Hope I have understood the question.
2004 GT now a 2002 ET2
Mon Oct 12, 2020 1:12 pm quote
HT lead
Thanks for the reply. I guess I can screw the HT wire in. It seems to bit a bit. I had to yank the wire out of the old CDI and just surprised that I look at the spark plug wire and see only a little exposed wire. I'll screw it on as tight as possible and put the rubber plug over it and hope it connects. I hope I go the other plugs to the CDI in sufficiently. It was very tight quarters to try to pull the boot back and line up the 3 wires while they were kind of flimsy. Thanks for the tip! Trying to clean the carb at the same time, all kinds of fun.
Ossessionato