purchasing a 2021
Post Reply    Forum -> General Discussion
2020 GTS300 HPE
Wed Dec 09, 2020 6:51 am quote
I am very close to buying a 2021 GTS 300 Touring model. I see lots of mechanical postings such as a 2015 engine needing replacing (already??) and things about an engine blowing up. How are these things happening?? Same thing happened when I bought a Triumph America. Lots of mechanical issues/repairs, etc, metioned on the Triumph forum. Well, I bought it anyway! Had an igniter box go out and 2 out of 3 years I had a warped front brake rotor. I wish I hadn't gotten ticked off and traded it in! It was a great bike. I got a HD Dyna Low Rider instead. Maybe there is a lesson there! Buy the Vespa anyway and keep it. I am a conservative driver and I do what I know to maintain a vehicle. The new baby will stay in the house for the winter because I have a mud room. I've cleaned the cow dirt and mud out of that room enough so I deserve to use it now for whatever I want! Cows will be gone soon. I don't live where I have access to many dealers so I figure I better go ahead and buy it. That dealer is 180 miles. Other dealer doesn't have a Tourer model but they are only 75 miles. I don't know if any 2021s will show up by Spring so I could miss my chance on getting anything since I prefer this model. Do it??!
Veni, Vidi, Posti
2007 LX150 2015 GTS 2013 BV 350
Wed Dec 09, 2020 8:03 am quote
Welcome to MV.

You know what we're gonna tell you, right? Go for it.

I think you'll always hear about the problems, but there hasn't been any consistent issues, and IMO the GTS has been quite reliable, with few exceptions.

So, do it, and show us pictures! As for distance from a mechanic, if you have reasonable abilities, there are great YouTube videos on basic (and more!) maintenance which make the work relatively easy. And you have a workspace!
2020 GTS300 HPE
Wed Dec 09, 2020 10:34 am quote