What is wrong with Chinese scooters
Post Reply    Forum -> General Discussion 123Next

Fri Jun 13, 2008 6:14 am quote
I am brand new to the scooter thing and I am looking for my first scooter. I really dont want to pay thousands for a scooter only to realize that a scooter does not work with my lifestyle. So what is wrong with buying a $1500-2000 chinese made scooter for my first experience and then moving up to Vespa in a year or two????
Sponsor
Couple of damn mopeds / 2 GT60's / 05 ET2 / 01 ET4 Rubio Red/ 09 GTS / 78 P200 / 2003 Honda Ruckus 946 #00017 946 #00003
Fri Jun 13, 2008 6:15 am quote
Re: What is wrong with Chinese scooters
kimcox99 wrote:
I am brand new to the scooter thing and I am looking for my first scooter. I really dont want to pay thousands for a scooter only to realize that a scooter does not work with my lifestyle. So what is wrong with buying a $1500-2000 chinese made scooter for my first experience and then moving up to Vespa in a year or two????
Oh boy........................

Hold on, many responses coming. My .02 cents would be parts availability, dealer support, lack of brakes and suspension.

Cheers,
SDG
Addicted
Honda Shadow VLX (Fly 150 sold)
Fri Jun 13, 2008 6:18 am quote
Not a thing.

I would have considered a Chinese scooter if there were any dealers that carried them here in Baton Rouge, but of the 3 scooter sellers that I know of here, only Suzuki, Yamaha, Honda, Vespa & Piaggio brands are readily available.

I considered only scooters that could be serviced locally.

Fri Jun 13, 2008 6:20 am quote
I never thought of the service issue, so you can't go to your local Jiffy Lupe to get an oil change for a scooter? I am seeing scooters online for anywhere from $1000 to $1800 chinese made...
Hooked
2007 Aprilia Scarabeo 500ie, 2006 Vespa GT200
Fri Jun 13, 2008 6:20 am quote