Vespa LX 150 + Salt == Rust?
Post Reply    Forum -> General Discussion
LX 150
Wed Nov 23, 2005 11:37 am quote
What a great forum! Found my way over here from the "other forum" and I have to say the atmosphere is much more relaxed. I'm likin it.

I'm relatively new to scooting. Have about 3K miles on my LX 150. Been trying to keep on riding it but I just noticed that winter has finally really shown up. It's snowing and we are going to get some inches today. So I need some advice. Here are some of the particulars.

I have to keep my scoot outside on the street. And I live in a place where there is street cleaning, so I need to move it from one side of the street to the other two days a week. I have a cover for the scoot. I also have the option of putting my scoot in my parents heated garage.

My dilema is simple. I'm not sure if I should try to scoot as much as I can through the winter. Or put the scoot into my parents heated garage until say, March. Although when I bought the scoot I had the attitude that I was going to run it into the ground, I'm not so sure now. I want it to last a long time too. So here we go.

Will road salt cause my scoot to rust? I'm not sure that it is manufactured in the same manner as cars today. I really don't want it to rust.

Is road salt a hazzard in the way the gravel is? I think I can correct for it, but I have no experience with it and I'm not sure what more experience riders may think.

Can I ride through the actual snow? It is similar to a car? I'm probably going to give it a shot around the house tonight just to try it out. I have to try!

Or should I just put it away until March? And take the risk that that amazing warm day pops up in the middle of Decemeber and my head explodes because I can't scoot into work.

Advice is appreciated.
Ossessionato
Wed Nov 23, 2005 12:40 pm quote
If you've got an indoor place to park it, do it.