Vespa ET2 Carb problems - No power, now too much power
Post Reply    Forum -> General Discussion
Vespa ET2 50
Sun Jun 19, 2011 8:02 am quote
I've just bought my first scooter, and it has something wrong with the carb. The bike would run for about a minute or two max then slowly cut out.

So I opened it up today and removed the carb and found the pipe on the bottom where I think the air comes out was full of black stuff (it's the thin pipe that's about the same size as the oil pipe.

I sprayed carb cleaner into it and all the other pipes to clear them all out and put it back in.

Now when I start the engine it's like I've got the gas on full when I'm not even touching the gas at all...

Can anyone help? Sorry I'm a complete beginner with all this.

It's a Vespa ET2 50cc 2003. I think I may not have connected the big, wide air thing that is connected to the air filter properly. Also no oil came out of the oil input pipe, is that normal?
Addicted
2007 Vespa GT200
Sun Jun 19, 2011 8:47 am quote
Carb Spray, now too much gas/power?
Being as you started with no/low power and now too much, I would say either the carb spray cleaned the carb, but the float/needle tip is sticking a bit or you did not connect hoses properly and you have a vacuum leak.

Before starting any "venture" where you start disconnecting/disassembling always take digital pictures before hand, label everything with masking tape and marker pen even so far as laying the screws out on the floor in the exact pattern (or punch holes in cardboard pattern and tape 'em in).

Look in the Wiki tab for your model scoot for the service manual...MV posters and sponsors have been kind enough to make things easy for us newbies (me included)...be patient and methodical...don't beat yourself up too much, common sense is used too often and a misnomer...as it is a "learned experience."
Vespa ET2 50
Sun Jun 19, 2011 9:32 am quote