3 weeks old & 276 miles & a rod is knocking
Post Reply    Forum -> General Discussion
300 gts
Sat Jan 28, 2012 11:21 am quote
I just got in to scooters and bought what I thought was the best. I have 276 miles on my 2010 Vespa 300 GTS and went into the dealer for a windshield. He informed me that my engine has a rod knock. I build ultralight engines for a living and know this is real bad news. I feel with such low mileage the entire engine should be replaced. Any thoughts ????
Moderaptor
2xGP800, Fuoco, X9 500 Evo, The Hornet (GT200, aka Love Bug), 'Olive' (GT200) and 'Dimples' - a GTS 300
Sat Jan 28, 2012 12:47 pm quote
(Moved to General Discussion as this isn't a Wiki Article discussion)

Is it still in warranty? Then it should be covered - if the dealer's opinion is correct.
300 gts
Sat Jan 28, 2012 1:48 pm quote
its brand new from the dealer, brand new. I bought it 3 weeks ago and rode it 50 miles hole. 168 miles around home and 50 miles bck for a windshield. Being this new I feel a rebuilt engine is unfair. Metal went through this engine and all of the bearings. Fixing the cause will not cure all the damage occured.
The Beer Guy
2010 GTS 300 Super
Sat Jan 28, 2012 2:17 pm quote
A new engine doesn't seem unreasonable to me. Have you told them this is what you expect?
300 gts
Sat Jan 28, 2012 2:44 pm quote
At first he talked about how the bigger engines never gave any troubles. ( this lead me to think they do not have much experance working on them ) and how it sounds like a rod knock and they would fix it. 3 weeks and over $7000 out the door and I'm going to own a scooter that was just brought back from the dead . OUCH What can I do ?????
Veni, Vidi, Posti
Neutrino MP3 492.7 AK
Sat Jan 28, 2012 3:37 pm quote
Rick Davis wrote: