OP
@emilym100 avatar
UTC

Hooked
Black Vespa ET4 125cc - 2000: 'Sergio' (Retired), Red Vespa GTS Super 125cc - 2013: 'No name yet' (current)

Hooked
@emilym100 avatar
Black Vespa ET4 125cc - 2000: 'Sergio' (Retired), Red Vespa GTS Super 125cc - 2013: 'No name yet' (current)
UTC quote
Hi Guys,

I'm new to MV and I'm looking into buying my first Vespa but I'm a total novice! I don't drive and I've never looked at a bike never mind driven one.

I've found a Vespa I like the look of but to me it's just pretty and red. What questions do I need to ask and what am I looking for?

The information I have is:

It's a GTS 125cc, 2008 plate, done approx 11,000 miles, serviced 3 weeks ago, MOT due in February. Comes with a top box, tall windscreen and a front rack. Petrol, automatic.

Any help is most appreciated!
@akp avatar
UTC

TEAM #68
ET4 & GT160

TEAM #68
@akp avatar
ET4 & GT160
UTC quote
Hey Emily,

Do you drive a car? Have you bought a car before?

With the Modern Vespas I've found that the whole buying experience and process you go through is very similar. So look for obvious things, look for the service history, old MOT's etc.

Ask when it had it's belt changed last, as thats something that should be done around the 11k mark.

Tax will be cheap at £16 per year.

Some of the modern vespas can suffer from rust on the floor or behind the front wheel, so check there for rust.

The normal stuff really, GT's are good reliable bikes with decent power.

Good luck and post up some photos of the bike, also, what price is it?

You'll look to pay around £900-£1200 for a GT.
OP
@emilym100 avatar
UTC

Hooked

Hooked
@emilym100 avatar
UTC quote
No I don't drive, I was looking into getting a car but was quoted £11,000 a year to insure due to my age. A vespa insurance was only £500.

I'll definately ask about the belt change and check for rust! Thanks

Due to the power being below 125cc it doesn't require tax.