UTC

Hooked
2013 Triumph Tiger 800XC, GTS 300 Super Duper, Genuine Buddy 150

Hooked
@skootz_kabootz avatar
UTC quote
Hello there MVers,

After lurking around the place for a while learning all sorts of fabulously useful things such as how not to dump gas all over my GTS while filling up, why my GTS front brake makes a weird sound, and why my GTS makes rude noises after I turn it off, I figured it was high time I said hello!

I think I may already know a few of you from my time over at Modern Buddy, or from leading the LA Scooter Group, or from my new scooter group, The Adventurists, and other sordid scooting fun.

I've been riding for about 4 - 5 years now. My first scooter was (is) my beloved Genuine Buddy 150. What a great first scooter. I have put about 26,000 abusive miles on it so far including riding it to Amerivespa in Los Gatos a few years back (alongside EricAlm), going back and forth to San Diego numerous times, heading into the mountains, and generally pushing it well beyond its intended use. I tend to like to ride as far away from the city as possible.

To that end, I recently became the proud owner of a beautiful new-to-me 2012 GTS300 Super in titanium grey and have been having a blast putting the first few thousand miles on it. All I can say is what an exquisite machine!

Such a difference. The best word I can think of is effortless. Everything I used to have to strain for on the 150 is now effortless. No more tucking to eek out a few extra mph, no more wondering if I am pissing off some cager in a hurry behind me, no more slowing down when going up hills. It is heaven! The Buddy will remain my city scooter, it is absolutely perfect for that, and the GTS will be for points beyond. What a treat!