Fri May 10, 2013 1:54 pm

Enthusiast
62 VBB1
Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 81
Location: Houston, TX
 
Enthusiast
62 VBB1
Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 81
Location: Houston, TX
Fri May 10, 2013 1:54 pm linkquote
Hey guys, my installer is having an issue installing the SIP Digital Speedo on my VBB, and was hoping someone might know the answer:

He is looking specifically for a breakdown of the speedo sensor wires. Can someone please let me know which color wires on the speedo sensor are what as this is not listed in the instructions.

Thank you!!
Sat May 11, 2013 6:49 am

Hooked
Sprint 166, P150S
Joined: 02 Nov 2011
Posts: 315
Location: Saigon
 
Hooked
Sprint 166, P150S
Joined: 02 Nov 2011
Posts: 315
Location: Saigon
Sat May 11, 2013 6:49 am linkquote
Hi Mark. Serious reply here. If your answer is "I know" then great, we can rule that out.

The digital unit takes its speedo sense from the same speedo wire you had installed before you bought the SIP gauge. What looks like the speedo needle on the face of the speedo measures RPM rather than speed. Your speed will be displayed as digital units below this.

My answer is that I don't think there is a speedo sensor wire which is why you can't find one in the freeky deeky German translationy manual. I wired mine from the manual ok.
Sat May 11, 2013 7:39 am

Enthusiast
62 VBB1
Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 81
Location: Houston, TX
 
Enthusiast
62 VBB1
Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 81
Location: Houston, TX
Sat May 11, 2013 7:39 am linkquote
Thanks Scott. I'll pass that along. Fingers crossed.

On a side note, how is your digital speedo treating you? Any bugs or irritants to pass along?
Sat May 11, 2013 8:21 am

Enthusiast
62 VBB1
Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 81
Location: Houston, TX
 
Enthusiast
62 VBB1
Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 81
Location: Houston, TX
Sat May 11, 2013 8:21 am linkquote
I apparently misspoke about which wires we needed clarification on. Below is a better text from the installer that might make more sense:

Wires: Yellow with black, orange, and yellow with white. This are coming out of the speedo . Not the sensor I have sensor diagram. Right now there a ground. And two power leads of 4.8 volts on a 12 volt system. I have searched the site but no one has a posting.



Sat May 11, 2013 8:22 am

Enthusiast
62 VBB1
Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 81
Location: Houston, TX
 
Enthusiast
62 VBB1
Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 81
Location: Houston, TX
Sat May 11, 2013 8:22 am linkquote
Here's the other wires they need to connect to.



Sat May 11, 2013 12:48 pm

Addicted
Vespa GL Touring 180, Vespa GL 225, Vespa PX 200 Sahara Edition
Joined: 21 Jan 2011
Posts: 614
Location: Norway
 
Addicted
Vespa GL Touring 180, Vespa GL 225, Vespa PX 200 Sahara Edition
Joined: 21 Jan 2011
Posts: 614
Location: Norway
Sat May 11, 2013 12:48 pm linkquote
The wiring instructions should be included in the box with the speedo. If you don't have it, PM me and I can send it to you.
Sat May 11, 2013 12:50 pm

Enthusiast
62 VBB1
Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 81
Location: Houston, TX
 
Enthusiast
62 VBB1
Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 81
Location: Houston, TX
Sat May 11, 2013 12:50 pm linkquote
Magg wrote:
The wiring instructions should be included in the box with the speedo. If you don't have it, PM me and I can send it to you.
There were instructions in the box, but these three wires were not detailed in it. If you look over your instructions and see they are listed on it, please let me know as they are not listed in mine.

Thank you!
Sat May 11, 2013 1:03 pm

Addicted
250 Super
Joined: 04 Mar 2009
Posts: 769
Location: 93441
 
Addicted
250 Super
Joined: 04 Mar 2009
Posts: 769
Location: 93441
Sat May 11, 2013 1:03 pm linkquote
Is your VBB 12 volts? I'm not sure the speedo unit will work on 6 volts.

The problems I've had with mine were the inner speedo cable not long enough to connect into the instrument enough to turn the inner mechanism, solved with a brass compression fitting for connecting a 1/4" water line and the RPM needle getting out of phase with the actual RPMs, either too high, or as it is now maxing out at 4500. I have almost 6000 miles on mine. I suggest getting a Koso 10mm cht fitting and use it under a head nut instead of using the spark plug. I used the headlight power wire to the handle bar switch for powering the speedo, and the other wires were plug and play (that was for a Rally unit, the VBB could be different)
Sat May 11, 2013 1:07 pm

Enthusiast
62 VBB1
Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 81
Location: Houston, TX
 
Enthusiast
62 VBB1
Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 81
Location: Houston, TX
Sat May 11, 2013 1:07 pm linkquote
classic rider wrote:
Is your VBB 12 volts? I'm not sure the speedo unit will work on 6 volts.
Yes, 12v system.
Sun May 12, 2013 12:32 am

Addicted
Vespa GL Touring 180, Vespa GL 225, Vespa PX 200 Sahara Edition
Joined: 21 Jan 2011
Posts: 614
Location: Norway
 
Addicted
Vespa GL Touring 180, Vespa GL 225, Vespa PX 200 Sahara Edition
Joined: 21 Jan 2011
Posts: 614
Location: Norway
Sun May 12, 2013 12:32 am linkquote
markolomew wrote:
Magg wrote:
The wiring instructions should be included in the box with the speedo. If you don't have it, PM me and I can send it to you.
There were instructions in the box, but these three wires were not detailed in it. If you look over your instructions and see they are listed on it, please let me know as they are not listed in mine.

Thank you!
From those pictures it looks to me like your guy has just cut off the plugs and forgot to check where they go? They're all unique and only fit one way.

There's one plug for the external button (two wires), one for the cht sensor (two wires, I think), and three wires coming out of the power box connecting to the rest of the scooters wiring (Red (+12vdc or ac power), Brown 12v ac (rpm signal) and black (ground).

Perhaps you should take a look at an other sip speedo and peel back the extra isolation to see where the wires go?
Sun May 12, 2013 3:53 am

Hooked
Sprint 166, P150S
Joined: 02 Nov 2011
Posts: 315
Location: Saigon
 
Hooked
Sprint 166, P150S
Joined: 02 Nov 2011
Posts: 315
Location: Saigon
Sun May 12, 2013 3:53 am linkquote
There are some extra wires for optional extras.

Go into your SIP order and you will find a PDF version of the instructions right there.

Mine has been working fine. I didn't have an R rated plug to start with so disconnected the CHT sensor at the plug as it was making the rev counter do its slow advance to the right until it goes no more. I've got R rated plugs now and it all works great.

When it comes to setting the RPM's, ignore the manual which I think tells you setting 1 for 1 cylinder, 2 strokes. Just keep it at default which i think is 3.

I've only got about 3000km's on mine but its a cool addition.
Sun May 12, 2013 7:23 am

Ossessionato
T5 Pole Position, T for thoroughbred
Joined: 07 Oct 2010
Posts: 4630
Location: Dublin
 
Ossessionato
T5 Pole Position, T for thoroughbred
Joined: 07 Oct 2010
Posts: 4630
Location: Dublin
Sun May 12, 2013 7:23 am linkquote
Your scoot survived the hit scott?
Sun May 12, 2013 7:35 am

Hooked
Sprint 166, P150S
Joined: 02 Nov 2011
Posts: 315
Location: Saigon
 
Hooked
Sprint 166, P150S
Joined: 02 Nov 2011
Posts: 315
Location: Saigon
Sun May 12, 2013 7:35 am linkquote
jackson85 wrote:
Your scoot survived the hit scott?
TBH, I've yet to see it properly in the flesh and assess as I only had my operation a few days ago. I think/hope it can be fixed with some welding to the legshield and a new floor. But the photo I saw was like an IED had ripped the lower leggy and floor apart.

We'll see. But it will take time. I may have to relegate it to a Sunday fun tool because with the mileage I do (about 1500km a month), I really need to a) increase my chance of survival from the idiots that we have to deal with here on the roads and b) a vehicle I don't care if it gets smashed up. Hence I'm buying an S125 3V! My thinking is I can't go too fast on it, brakes are very good and a slight bones is I'll get double the gas mileage compared to my Malossi monster. Jon was right when he built the engine. He said it would pass everything except gas stations!
Mon May 13, 2013 6:46 am

Addicted
'78, '80 P125X, '80 100 Sport, '74 150 Super
Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 717
Location: Seattle
 
Addicted
'78, '80 P125X, '80 100 Sport, '74 150 Super
Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 717
Location: Seattle
Mon May 13, 2013 6:46 am linkquote
markolomew wrote:
...how is your digital speedo treating you? Any bugs or irritants to pass along?
I've had one in a P-series for about 1 year now. My only complaint is there seems to be quite a bit of dust/moisture under the glass now - especially for only being 1 year old. I garage the scooter 99% of the time (only rarely do I leave it parked on the sidewalk in front of the house over night.) Otherwise, I love it!
Tue May 28, 2013 7:38 am

Enthusiast
62 VBB1
Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 81
Location: Houston, TX
 
Enthusiast
62 VBB1
Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 81
Location: Houston, TX
Tue May 28, 2013 7:38 am linkquote
So the SIP rev counter/speedo is installed, but I'm having issues with it locking up a lot. The only way to fix it is to turn off/on the scooter to reset it. Also, its not reading RPMs. Has anyone else had this issue, or is this a cut and dry case of "exchange it" and try again?
Tue May 28, 2013 8:02 am

Banned
2:6
Joined: 11 Jan 2007
Posts: 7973
Location: San Francisco
 
Banned
2:6
Joined: 11 Jan 2007
Posts: 7973
Location: San Francisco
Tue May 28, 2013 8:02 am linkquote
install a resistor sparkplug and see if it's better.
Tue May 28, 2013 8:07 am

Enthusiast
62 VBB1
Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 81
Location: Houston, TX
 
Enthusiast
62 VBB1
Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 81
Location: Houston, TX
Tue May 28, 2013 8:07 am linkquote
Also, here is what I heard back from Koso via SIP about the wiring questions I was asking:

About the wiring definition : Please check the information below for your
reference.

1. Yellow/ White : Signal
2. Orange : +5V DC
3. Yellow/ Black : GND
Quote:
install a resistor sparkplug and see if it's better.
About installing a resistor sparkplug, are you thinking the speedo display is getting too much voltage? I'm curious to hear a little more about this.
Tue May 28, 2013 8:24 am

Banned
2:6
Joined: 11 Jan 2007
Posts: 7973
Location: San Francisco
 
Banned
2:6
Joined: 11 Jan 2007
Posts: 7973
Location: San Francisco
Tue May 28, 2013 8:24 am linkquote
The ignition on these are very electrically noisy and this can freak out some computers (bike speedometer, trip computer...). I've had trip computers lock up as soon as you start the bike, installing a resistor type spark plug was all it took to correct it. It's cheep and easy to try and has no down side.

May or may not be the cause, but worth a try.
Tue May 28, 2013 8:29 am

Addicted
Vespa GL Touring 180, Vespa GL 225, Vespa PX 200 Sahara Edition
Joined: 21 Jan 2011
Posts: 614
Location: Norway
 
Addicted
Vespa GL Touring 180, Vespa GL 225, Vespa PX 200 Sahara Edition
Joined: 21 Jan 2011
Posts: 614
Location: Norway
Tue May 28, 2013 8:29 am linkquote
Resistor plug is the way to go.

I can't remember if it's specified in the manual. Perhaps not, since so many people have this problem?
Tue May 28, 2013 11:37 am

Enthusiast
62 VBB1
Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 81
Location: Houston, TX
 
Enthusiast
62 VBB1
Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 81
Location: Houston, TX
Tue May 28, 2013 11:37 am linkquote
ok, popped open the spark plug to check and it is a resister plug. NGK BR8ES to be specific. Any other ideas before I pull out my hair???

also will the plug cause the input signal to have power on it when it is not hooked up? Because that's what I have going on.
Thu May 30, 2013 6:25 am

Enthusiast
62 VBB1
Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 81
Location: Houston, TX
 
Enthusiast
62 VBB1
Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 81
Location: Houston, TX
Thu May 30, 2013 6:25 am linkquote
let me re-clarify. Here are the words from the installer directly. Please chime in with any suggestions. At this point we are trying to rule out everything other than "just exchange it":

"On the three wires that are coming off of the speedo (not the sensor), there are power on two of the leads, where there should be only one and a returning signal from the sensor only. This is why i think the SIP speedo is having issues (outside of the other issues that I have see with it). This is happening with the key in the "on" position only. The unit is wired correctly based on the manual provided. Maybe this helps?"
Thu May 30, 2013 8:49 am

Addicted
Vespa GL Touring 180, Vespa GL 225, Vespa PX 200 Sahara Edition
Joined: 21 Jan 2011
Posts: 614
Location: Norway
 
Addicted
Vespa GL Touring 180, Vespa GL 225, Vespa PX 200 Sahara Edition
Joined: 21 Jan 2011
Posts: 614
Location: Norway
Thu May 30, 2013 8:49 am linkquote
That might be be the rpm signal (12v AC from the motor) he's talking about.

To be honest, I'm starting to doubt that your installer should be working on your bike for you.

I'm pretty sure you'd be able to do this pretty well yourself.

It really isn't difficult. The hard bit would be fishing wires through the frame.

It seems to me he has made a rather simple installation into something alot more complicated by cutting over all those plugs.

Show him this diagram and ask him which plugs he has cut off and where he is measuring what? +5v dc tells me he might be measuring something between the powerbox and the speedo. Between the powerbox and the rest of the loom he should be seeing 12dc and/or 12v ac.

Then again you might have a bad speedo. But that's a little hard to tell when I can't be certain it's wired correctly.
Quote:
also will the plug cause the input signal to have power on it when it is not hooked up? Because that's what I have going on.
The input signal (brown wire) will have power as long as the engine is turning. (for instance when you're kicking it over.) The plug doesn't need to be installed, and the brown wire doesn't need to be hooked up to the speedo. The signal is just the AC pulse from the stator.


Assuming it is wired correctly, try disconnecting the temp sensor, and make sure the brown wire is connected to 12v regulated ac. Does it still freeze up when the engine is running? What happens when the engine is off?



Tue Jun 18, 2013 1:07 pm

Enthusiast
62 VBB1
Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 81
Location: Houston, TX
 
Enthusiast
62 VBB1
Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 81
Location: Houston, TX
Tue Jun 18, 2013 1:07 pm linkquote
So I finally had a chance to see this for myself and the issue is basically that the display is very temperamental. The unit will randomly decide if it wants to go into Setup mode, or even allow the hardwired button to even function at all. Sometimes it works perfectly, sometimes it freezes up at startup, sometime it freezes up after I enter Setup Mode then cycles through all 5 screen after I was able to input all my settings. After boot up, I can press and hold the button for a minute or more and it still will not trigger the Setup screen. Then after a little time, the setup screen will just pop on without me pressing anything. I've also noticed that when I free spin the front tire, the RPMs will jump from 1, 2, 3, 4, to 100+.

At this point, I'm having to agree with the installer that all things aside, the speedo head unit software is acting buggy. I'm in talks with SIP right now for an exchange, but I'm finding they are not very easy to work with for exchanges. It's been a couple weeks now and they still have not approved the exchange yet.
Sun Jul 14, 2013 12:16 pm

Enthusiast
62 VBB1
Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 81
Location: Houston, TX
 
Enthusiast
62 VBB1
Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 81
Location: Houston, TX
Sun Jul 14, 2013 12:16 pm linkquote
I need to install a Koso speed sensor for this speedometer, but I am confused by which speed sensor I would need: Active or Passive?

The SIP website shows a picture of a passive sensor, but it has the active sensor model number next to it. With no description next to it, I am obviously very confused.

Can anyone shed some light on this? Here are the links in question:

SIP Website:
http://www.sip-scootershop.com/en/products/speed+sensor+koso+sa07+_kobf640j04

Koso Passive Sensor:
http://www.kosonorthamerica.com/koso/shop/sensors-scooter_access/passive-speed-sensor-8/

Koso Active Sensor:
http://www.kosonorthamerica.com/koso/shop/motorcycle_acc/active-speed-sensor-200cm-4/

EDIT: KOSO and SIP both say to use the Active Sensor. Exchanged Speedo Unit, Reinstalled identically, installed Koso Active Speedo Sensor, and everything but the RPMs were working perfectly. At this point, screw the RPMs, I'm just happy to have something digital working on technology this old!
⬆️    About 2 months elapsed between posts    ⬇️
Fri Sep 06, 2013 9:10 pm

Hooked
74 Rally 200 - 70 Sprint Veloce - 68ish Bajaj VBA - wifes 1970 V90 - 77 NYPD Sprint Veloce
Joined: 27 Apr 2009
Posts: 340
Location: Atlanta
 
Hooked
74 Rally 200 - 70 Sprint Veloce - 68ish Bajaj VBA - wifes 1970 V90 - 77 NYPD Sprint Veloce
Joined: 27 Apr 2009
Posts: 340
Location: Atlanta
Fri Sep 06, 2013 9:10 pm linkquote
I'm wanting to order the speed sensor. Did it come with everything you need?
Sat Sep 07, 2013 5:04 am

Enthusiast
62 VBB1
Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 81
Location: Houston, TX
 
Enthusiast
62 VBB1
Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 81
Location: Houston, TX
Sat Sep 07, 2013 5:04 am linkquote
It doesn't come with an active speed sensor, speed sensor bracket, nor magnetic bolt. Beyond that it had everything if I remember right.
  DoubleGood Vespa Design  

All Content Copyright 2005-2021 by Modern Vespa. All Rights Reserved.

Modern Vespa is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.

Shop on Amazon Smile with Modern Vespa

[ Time: 0.0357s ][ Queries: 7 (0.0124s) ][ Debug on ][ 209 ][ Thing One ]