OP
@genie avatar
UTC

Gobshite Shiva
Kymco Downtown 300i the 'Dolphin Noise'
Joined: UTC
Posts: 14960
Location: London UK
 
Gobshite Shiva
@genie avatar
Kymco Downtown 300i the 'Dolphin Noise'
Joined: UTC
Posts: 14960
Location: London UK
UTC quote
Between yesterday evening and this morning, my imac has suddenly become invisible to all of my bluetooth devices. They simply fail to find it. I've tested both the iphone and the wireless keyboard and as far as they are concerned it just isn't there. I've done all the usual things - going into the settings, removing and reinstating all of the devices, switching bluetooth off and on, etc. - with no result. I haven't done any software updates recently or installed anything new. I'm running OS10.6.8

I'm all over t'interwebs trying to sort the problem out, but in the meantime, if anyone here has any idea what might be up and how to fix it, that would be great.
@miguel avatar
UTC

Veni, Vidi, Posti
2009 GTV250 (Gone), 2003 Inder trailer (also gone), 2001 BMW R1100RT
Joined: UTC
Posts: 5707
Location: Santa Cruz California
 
Veni, Vidi, Posti
@miguel avatar
2009 GTV250 (Gone), 2003 Inder trailer (also gone), 2001 BMW R1100RT
Joined: UTC
Posts: 5707
Location: Santa Cruz California
UTC quote
Did you try powering everything down, then back up and then re-pairng the BT devices?

Miguel
@der_blechfahrer avatar
UTC

Molto Verboso
ET3 & PX150 & GTS 300 Super Sport MY23 & Yamaha Neo's electric
Joined: UTC
Posts: 1875
Location: Berlin
 
Molto Verboso
@der_blechfahrer avatar
ET3 & PX150 & GTS 300 Super Sport MY23 & Yamaha Neo's electric
Joined: UTC
Posts: 1875
Location: Berlin
UTC quote
Is your bluetooth device still listed in the system profiler?
Click the apple, then choose "About this Mac...", then "More info..."
OP
@genie avatar
UTC

Gobshite Shiva
Kymco Downtown 300i the 'Dolphin Noise'
Joined: UTC
Posts: 14960
Location: London UK
 
Gobshite Shiva
@genie avatar
Kymco Downtown 300i the 'Dolphin Noise'
Joined: UTC
Posts: 14960
Location: London UK
UTC quote
yes, and yes. done all the usual fixes already. my bluetooth devices are all still listed in the system profiler, but the imac isn't showing up when i try to link through my iphone, even though it's listed as 'discoverable'.
@miguel avatar
UTC

Veni, Vidi, Posti
2009 GTV250 (Gone), 2003 Inder trailer (also gone), 2001 BMW R1100RT
Joined: UTC
Posts: 5707
Location: Santa Cruz California
 
Veni, Vidi, Posti
@miguel avatar
2009 GTV250 (Gone), 2003 Inder trailer (also gone), 2001 BMW R1100RT
Joined: UTC
Posts: 5707
Location: Santa Cruz California
UTC quote
I don't use BT devices w my Air so not that familiar w BT. There's always the apple store.

I've never thought of connecting my iohone to my Mac via BT. Does it have benefits over using a cable?

Miguel
OP
@genie avatar
UTC

Gobshite Shiva
Kymco Downtown 300i the 'Dolphin Noise'
Joined: UTC
Posts: 14960
Location: London UK
 
Gobshite Shiva
@genie avatar
Kymco Downtown 300i the 'Dolphin Noise'
Joined: UTC
Posts: 14960
Location: London UK
UTC quote
not really, except when i'm feeling too lazy to plug in the cable to download photos to the hard drive

i tested it this morning just to get a better sense of whether the problem was with my wireless keyboard, or with the imac. both the devices seem to be working fine, so I'm guessing that means the problem is with the computer itself. i also changed the batteries in the keyboard (the imac sometimes has trouble finding it when the batteries are low).

apple store not an option. i know of too many people who've paid loads of money only to have a 'genius' shrug their shoulders and tell them they need a new computer. i'm sure i'll work it out on my own in due course - was just hoping that somebody hear may know of the problem and have a quick fix.
@paulo avatar
UTC

Hooked
GTS 300 super
Joined: UTC
Posts: 487
Location: Sheffield UK
 
Hooked
@paulo avatar
GTS 300 super
Joined: UTC
Posts: 487
Location: Sheffield UK
UTC quote
My mac mini did this a while ago, just stopped working. As I don't very often use bluetooth on the mini I came to the conclusion I had broken the bluetooth connectivity in some way. Either that or the bluetooth fairies had been in during the night and removed it.

Paulo
UTC

Member
Joined: UTC
Posts: 35
 
Member
Joined: UTC
Posts: 35
UTC quote
Resetting the System Management Controller (SMC)

1. Shut down the computer.
2. Unplug the computer's power cord.
3. Wait fifteen seconds.
4. Attach the computer's power cord.
5. Wait five seconds, then press the power button to turn on the computer.

Resetting the Parameter Random-Access Memory (PRAM)

1. Shut down the computer.
2. Locate the following keys on the keyboard: Command (⌘), Option, P, and R. You will need to hold these keys down simultaneously in step 4.
3. Turn on the computer.
4. Immediately press and hold the Command-Option-P-R keys. You must press this key combination before the gray screen appears. Continue holding the keys down until the computer restarts, and you hear the startup sound for the second time.
5. Release the keys.

Resetting PRAM may change some system settings and preferences. Use System Preferences to restore your settings.
OP
@genie avatar
UTC

Gobshite Shiva
Kymco Downtown 300i the 'Dolphin Noise'
Joined: UTC
Posts: 14960
Location: London UK
 
Gobshite Shiva
@genie avatar
Kymco Downtown 300i the 'Dolphin Noise'
Joined: UTC
Posts: 14960
Location: London UK
UTC quote
ah the magic PRAM reset - i've used this before to banish gremlins, will give it a try ...
@froggieposition avatar
UTC

Thunder Thief
2010 GTS 300 Super & 2015 Kawasaki Concours 1400 ABS
Joined: UTC
Posts: 2360
Location: in the blue ridge mountains of Virginia... on the trail of the lonesome pine..."
 
Thunder Thief
@froggieposition avatar
2010 GTS 300 Super & 2015 Kawasaki Concours 1400 ABS
Joined: UTC
Posts: 2360
Location: in the blue ridge mountains of Virginia... on the trail of the lonesome pine..."
UTC quote
Have you been watching naughty videos again...
@dutch avatar
UTC

Ossessionato
LXV 150 GTV 250
Joined: UTC
Posts: 2471
Location: Logan OH USA
 
Ossessionato
@dutch avatar
LXV 150 GTV 250
Joined: UTC
Posts: 2471
Location: Logan OH USA
@kdude avatar
UTC

Ossessionato
BV 400 (21) , BV 350 (16) SOLD :( , Sprint 150 2015(SOLD), Liberty S150 2018
Joined: UTC
Posts: 2956
Location: Florida
 
Ossessionato
@kdude avatar
BV 400 (21) , BV 350 (16) SOLD :( , Sprint 150 2015(SOLD), Liberty S150 2018
Joined: UTC
Posts: 2956
Location: Florida
UTC quote
Now that were into invisible blue tooth... i have an issue with my office mac. The bluetooth mouse pad says connected ... then not connected , then connected ... it loses signal and regains it over and over ...
any ideas why that happens. The pad is literally 10" from the imac.

This is not a hi jack on the org thread but a nice embellishment
@jimc avatar
UTC

Moderaptor
The Hornet (GT200, aka Love Bug) and 'Dimples' - a GTS 300
Joined: UTC
Posts: 43712
Location: Pleasant Hill, CA
 
Moderaptor
@jimc avatar
The Hornet (GT200, aka Love Bug) and 'Dimples' - a GTS 300
Joined: UTC
Posts: 43712
Location: Pleasant Hill, CA
UTC quote
Batteries?
@kdude avatar
UTC

Ossessionato
BV 400 (21) , BV 350 (16) SOLD :( , Sprint 150 2015(SOLD), Liberty S150 2018
Joined: UTC
Posts: 2956
Location: Florida
 
Ossessionato
@kdude avatar
BV 400 (21) , BV 350 (16) SOLD :( , Sprint 150 2015(SOLD), Liberty S150 2018
Joined: UTC
Posts: 2956
Location: Florida
UTC quote
jimc wrote:
Batteries?
could be .. but i just put in new duracell with the red colour claims the longest best super never dies set ... will try another set and post .. thx J
@jimc avatar
UTC

Moderaptor
The Hornet (GT200, aka Love Bug) and 'Dimples' - a GTS 300
Joined: UTC
Posts: 43712
Location: Pleasant Hill, CA
 
Moderaptor
@jimc avatar
The Hornet (GT200, aka Love Bug) and 'Dimples' - a GTS 300
Joined: UTC
Posts: 43712
Location: Pleasant Hill, CA
UTC quote
Clean the battery contacts gently with a fibreglass pencil.
@nabs avatar
UTC

Hooked
GTS300
Joined: UTC
Posts: 141
Location: Hertfordshire, England
 
Hooked
@nabs avatar
GTS300
Joined: UTC
Posts: 141
Location: Hertfordshire, England
UTC quote
re the OP it would not hurt to try a so called 'hard reset' - this just means disconnecting the battery/power for a minute or so.

The reason is that some hardware devices do not have any storage for the software they need to run ('firmware') and instead the operating system has to load it each time.

In the event there is a problem loading the firmware the dodgy version will persist until the computer is completely powered off.

my experience of this happening is on a non-standard hackintosh, so may not translate to proper mac hardware, but worth a try if you did not already do it.
@fencing_fan avatar
UTC

Hooked
2018 GTS 300. Montebianco
Joined: UTC
Posts: 226
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada
 
Hooked
@fencing_fan avatar
2018 GTS 300. Montebianco
Joined: UTC
Posts: 226
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada
UTC quote
you could also try unplugging everything, and unplugging the power cord for 30 seconds or so. Then restart with nothing plugged in, even the keyboard. Then plug in the keyboard and restart the computer again. This is a 'machine reset' or something like that. I had apple care suggest this process to me as part of a tech support call.

I wish I could remember more about that exercise, but apparently restarting the computer with nothing attached is a different sort of restart.
DoubleGood Design banner

Modern Vespa is the premier site for modern Vespa and Piaggio scooters. Vespa GTS300, GTS250, GTV, GT200, LX150, LXS, ET4, ET2, MP3, Fuoco, Elettrica and more.

Buy Me A Coffee
 

Shop on Amazon with Modern Vespa

Modern Vespa is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com


All Content Copyright 2005-2024 by Modern Vespa.
All Rights Reserved.


[ Time: 0.0164s ][ Queries: 3 (0.0072s) ][ live ][ 313 ][ ThingOne ]