OP
UTC

Lurker
2009 LX150

Lurker
2009 LX150
UTC quote
Hi all! I am a newb. I have a LX150 2009 w/ about 6200 miles on it. I am having some running issues. Ever since I bought it I have had these issues. First, I always have to give it gas to start it, never wants to start with just the electric start. Then it usually wants to stall out if I don't continue to give it some gas. The main thing is that when I go to accelerate and ride, it bogs down and makes a grinding noise. It does this for some time, until it eventually doesn't. Every stop I come to, when I go to accelerate, it bogs down and does that grinding noise again.

Now I did have a mechanic look at it and he said he cleaned the carb. Didn't seem to do any good. He adjusted the idle screw and it doesn't seem to stall much anymore, but you still have to give it gas to start. He was trying to tell me that it was probably the belts and rollers and that it would be a super expensive job to fix. I am just trying to see if anyone on here has any input. Thanks in advance,

Newb.
@znomit avatar
UTC

Veni, Vidi, Posti
LX190 Friday afternoon special, Primavera, some pushbikes

Veni, Vidi, Posti
@znomit avatar
LX190 Friday afternoon special, Primavera, some pushbikes
UTC quote
Hi Stu, welcome to MV. The shuddering on take off is not unusual, caused by dust in the clutch making the belt slip. You can take apart and clean, or blow compressed air in there, or just take the bike for a good run which sometimes helps.

Belt and rollers are easy to do yourself and not too expensive.
@jimc avatar
UTC

Moderaptor
The Hornet (GT200, aka Love Bug) and 'Dimples' - a GTS 300

Moderaptor
@jimc avatar
The Hornet (GT200, aka Love Bug) and 'Dimples' - a GTS 300
UTC quote