OP
UTC

Lurker
LX 150

Lurker
LX 150
UTC quote
Disclaimer: I'm not a mechanic. My Vespa mechanical skills have come from this forum and a bit of YouTube. Bought a 2007 LX 150 with 734 miles. Been sitting for years and not a scratch on it. For $1,500, I figured why not? How hard can it be to get it running again? Well, I bit harder than I imagined . . . .

Before I did anything, the engine would start, purr beautifully for 5 seconds, then die. Then it wouldn't start. I would let it sit for a day, then same thing would happen.

So, I've done the following:

1. New plug
2. New air filter
3. Drained old gas
4. Cleaned the fuel jets
5. New fuel tap
6. Added new gas and Seafoam
7. Replaced fuel and vacuum lines (Haven't removed EVAP)
8. Made sure my keys were correct and synced (or whatever the word is)

After all of that, she turned over, purred beautifully, then spit and sputtered. Did this a few times, but never ran more than 20-30 seconds while sputtering. Then she wouldn't start at all.

So I removed the carb, disassembled, gave it a good bath, then gave the parts another bath in my ultrasonic cleaner I use for fishing reels. Parts came out spotless. So far so good. When I went to re-assemble, everything went back together perfectly. I even figured out what the needle jet or collar was that I found in the bottom of the ultrasonic cleaner, and got it back in correctly. So at this point I'm getting drunk with power when I notice a split in the little boot of the plunger that seats in the float bowl.

Can someone please tell me how screwed I am? And if there is any way to unscrew myself short of buying the float bowl cover kit that has the little boot? I'd buy a new carb before buying the kit.

I've included a pic of the part. (No plastic or rubber when in the carb cleaner or ultrasonic. Just a little soap and water since it wasn't really dirty). In a perfect world, it would be great just to buy the boot, or even the plunger mechanism.