OP
@ezrocks avatar
UTC

GTV 300

@ezrocks avatar
GTV 300
UTC quote
Hello all. As the subject line states, I'm brand new to this game and have done extensive lurking/reading/researching on this site and many others in preparation for buying a ride. Still, I have questions based on conflicting info (which is to be expected, different strokes, etc) from more experienced riders and dealers.

Planning on using this to commute on the city streets of SF as my daily ride, about 6.5 miles each way from one side of the city to the other. As a new dad (yay, baby!), my inexperience as a rider tells me I should get something with ABS (the thread on this topic was super helpful), but also something used.

And then the classic 150 vs 300 argument, and I've read many many posts on it. Friends with bikes say to get the 150, as does the guy I took lessons from. Dealers say get the 300 (though they swear they're not upselling me), and experienced forum posters make a compelling case for the 300 for getting out in front of traffic. I'm 6'1, 215, so the weight of the bike doesn't scare me, but the traffic maneuverability does a bit.

So confused! Help?
@madison_sully avatar
UTC

Veni, Vidi, Posti
MP3 500, GTS 250 (both 2008 MY), 2013 Piaggio BV 350, 2014 Can Am Spyder RT

Veni, Vidi, Posti
@madison_sully avatar
UTC quote
If this is your first motorized two wheeler, get used.
That narrows things a bit, I would think.
GTS 250 would IMHO be a good starting point.

An LX150 may also be nice. It depends on how sure you are about getting into traffic. The 250 will go on highways. I've had mine up to 75MPH or so. So if you want to go distance or highway, get a 250 or 300. If you're happy at 35-50 MPH, the 150 could do the trick.

Start the timer for someone to suggest a 200....

As far as maneuverability, you should have no problems there, on any size Vespa. Few hours riding and you'll be right at home.
@jet_peddler avatar
UTC

Veni, Vidi, Posti