OP
UTC

Enthusiast
Black 2015 GTS

Enthusiast
Black 2015 GTS
UTC quote
Hi all,

So I've been scooting now for about 8 years - first on a 150 and now on a beautiful black GTS. For around town, I'm super happy with the GTS. I have gotten the distance bug, however, and also, being a leggy 6', have always felt a hair cramped on the scooter, even the GTS.

Have done 100 miles rides on the GTS just fine, but I find it hard to maintain speed on the grades and there's little spare power to pass.

I started this gig a little too old to really want to get into learning a clutch, but have been looking at the Honda DCT models.

Figuring that I'd go for the biggest bike I'd ever want, I have somewhat settled on the Africa Twin DCT. I know what I'd like about the bike for sure, but is there anything that I might regret about losing the GTS...other than style points?

I'm also a little curious about whether it's dumb to have an ADV style bike if I'd rarely take it off road. I figured it's good for luggage and long hauls, though. Goal might be to do a cross country ride when I retire....

Thanks in advance!
Raj
@mike_holland avatar
UTC

Ossessionato
GTS300 Super 2015 Blue, GTS300 Super 2023 Beige

Ossessionato
@mike_holland avatar
GTS300 Super 2015 Blue, GTS300 Super 2023 Beige
UTC quote
A couple of alternatives are
1. Fit a mono saddle, then you can sit further back and have more leg room.
2. Install a Malossi piston, cylinder and V4 head. This will give you much more power for overtaking (but will cost about $800 plus labour).

Mike
@motovista avatar
UTC

Veni, Vidi, Posti
GT 2.4

Veni, Vidi, Posti
@motovista avatar
GT 2.4
UTC quote
Having done some travel on a big, heavy ADV bike, I would recommend something in the 500-750 range, and about a hundred pounds lighter. It's going to do well on very crappy roads, but, while they call it an off road bike, you're not taking that pig on motocross tracks.