@txbootscoot avatar
UTC

Enthusiast
2012 Vespa GTS Super

Enthusiast
@txbootscoot avatar
2012 Vespa GTS Super
UTC quote
About 6 weeks ago I stumbled upon the 2012 Cannonball Run post. I spent more than a week reading every entry for the 60 or more pages. During that thread, I saw someone mention an Iron Butt challenge. For those of you who don't know me, I'm new to the Vespa World, but have ridden dirt bikes and dual sports since I was knee-high to a grasshopper. To see the post about my entry to Vespa's here is the link: Bought GTS in UT, live in TX, found a custom hitch carrier

Anyway, It was a Friday afternoon when I read about this thing called an Iron Butt. I was intrigued. I decided to YouTube Iron Butt and see what this whole thing was about--six hours later, my wife said, "Uh, are you coming to bed or what?" I was hooked. What a crazy idea! Who in their right mind tries that? Who on a Scooter would be silly enough to ride 1000 miles in 24 hours or less?! I went to bed.

The next morning I woke up and decided to dig into the Iron Butt website. I found that (if my math is correct) only 48 other people were crazy enough to get that ride certified on a Vespa... and to my surprise, NO ONE had done it in the state of Texas. The rest of the day, all I could think about was, "I know, I know, people who do that are crazy... but what if I was 49 overall and NUMBER 1 in The Great State?! Nah... that's crazy talk. I've never ridden that far on a Vespa. My longest trip is from the Dallas side of the Metroplex over to the Fort Worth side (maybe an hour).