OP
@chefck avatar
UTC

GTS 300 Super

@chefck avatar
GTS 300 Super
UTC quote
Hi everyone. New to forum. I am a 5’3” gal with a 29” inseam. I have been riding my 2010 Vespa GTS 300 Super for several years. Here is my question. I cannot flat foot at a stop. I normally scooch forward to end of seat and can be on both balls of my feet or flat foot one side at a stop. To back up, I cannot do it while on the bike, I have to manually back it up while standing and then get on the bike. I have had two fall overs losing my footing while doing that. I’d like to be on the bike and back up out of parking spots etc. Right now, I scoot in Merrell boots that have great flexibility. I have been considering changing to Dr Martens Jadon platform boots or even the 2” max platform boot for extra height. However, they don’t seem flexible. What are your thoughts? I have no problems riding at all. It’s the more connection to ground stops and backing up I’d like to address. Thanks for your input!
Forum member supplied image with no explanatory text
@guzzi_gal avatar
UTC

Ossessionato
Gigi, '13 GTS 300ie Touring

Ossessionato
@guzzi_gal avatar
UTC quote
Try asking a cobbler if a thicker sole can be added to your existing comfy boots. Yes, a thicker sole would alter your boots a bit but it might be worth the change.
UTC

Addicted

Addicted
UTC quote
Welcome.
Are you using the standard saddle? If so, for the cost of those boots it could be worth a trip to an upholstery shop for a lowering and reshaping job. A friend of mine is having his redone by a local shop for $200.
One seat doesn't fit all. I'm 6 foot 5 and modify my saddles to sit back.
OP
@chefck avatar
UTC

GTS 300 Super

@chefck avatar
GTS 300 Super
UTC quote
Topolino wrote:
Welcome.
Are you using the standard saddle? If so, for the cost of those boots it could be worth a trip to an upholstery shop for a lowering and reshaping job. A friend of mine is having his redone by a local shop for $200.