OP
@jsbd1 avatar
UTC

Primavera 125, Vespa S, ET4x2, Vespa Sprint

@jsbd1 avatar
UTC quote
Hi guys I am quite new to this Vespa repairs thing. I have a nearly new primavera that stays at the FIL and I have bought two older Vespas to do up as a bit of a hobby. I’m not mechanically minded but have enjoyed restoring bits and bobs of trim etc to restore the look and adding some chrome and flyscreens etc replacing worn trim badges and alike. Once I have got them tidy I will get them both restated at some point. ( the et4 looks like it’s already been 3 colours and the latest applied with a roller 😹! Hoping to restore it back to original pistachio colour I found under the blue and purple)

The problem is with my latest purchase it’s a Zafferano edition Vespa s 125. It was running fine even after standing for a couple of months standing waiting to be picked up at a mates house. He said he thought it had an oil leak, When I got it home I checked and it actually had a fuel leak where the hose had deteriorated where it connected to the tank. My FIL drained the tank cut it slightly shorter and refixed it. Refilled and tested it and it was running. A few hours later I tried and it won’t start.

I read that there is a vacuum line but there doesn’t appear to be? I think there is a pump that turns on sometimes when the ignition is engaged.

I wondered if the fuel was getting through ok as the in line filter looked filthy and original and perhaps draining the tank had buggered it with crap. I then proceeded to fit all new fuel line from the tank to the pump and the the pump to the carb. With a new filter. Still no luck.!

I put the battery on charge as I had turned it over a lot also and removed the air intake to the carb and sprayed in some carb cleaner. Which when turning over ignites so there must be a spark. I did also then remove the spark plug which was a bit sooted up and cleaned up the tip and tested for spark (it was working) ok.