@rfman81 avatar
UTC

Hooked
A couple oldies

Hooked
@rfman81 avatar
A couple oldies
UTC quote
Starting a thread as my clutch side seal has gone.
Going to split cases. This is my first time doing this on a Vespa and I wanted to have a space to document and where I can ask questions if needed. I have been reading plenty of other rebuild threads, usual websites (scooterhelp and vespa maintance), and Robot's youtube. I am going to have to take my time as my time is limited so this thread may last for awhile as I get going.

Any advice is welcome and I am honestly looking forward to doing this.
⚠️ Last edited by rfman81 on UTC; edited 3 times
UTC

Addicted
PK50XL, PK100S, ET3, Matchless G80S, Honda CBR400RR, Ducati ST4S

Addicted
UTC quote
The best advice I ever heard was stop and have a cup of tea 5 mins before you break stuff.

Obviously that 5 mins is easier to gauge with hindsight so basically if something isn't going well, walk away and think about it.

Oh, and have the right tools, things are so much easier with things like flywheel puller and clutch compressor.
@rowdyc avatar
UTC

Molto Verboso
GL, PK, PE200 with hack, Sears Rust Badge

Molto Verboso
@rowdyc avatar
GL, PK, PE200 with hack, Sears Rust Badge
UTC quote
Matchlessman wrote:
The best advice I ever heard was stop and have a cup of tea 5 mins before you break stuff.
F that tea. You need another herb at bay before and after stuff go bad. ROFL emoticon To each its own but do take your time.

Good luck!
@qascooter avatar
UTC

Ossessionato
79 P200E (Ruby), 62 Allstate (B-62)

Ossessionato
@qascooter avatar
79 P200E (Ruby), 62 Allstate (B-62)
UTC quote
Yes, take your time and enjoy the process.

Know it's not all going to go perfect, and that's ok.

Try not to force anything too hard cause it'll break.

Check out vids, also pictorials like on Scooter Mercator's site under "tech tips"...

And me - I like to drink coffee and eat pastries of some sort
Forum member supplied image with no explanatory text