@moto64 avatar
UTC

Molto Verboso
'64 Motovespa 150S (177) , '65 VBB, '66 Allstate SF, '66 180SS

Molto Verboso
@moto64 avatar
'64 Motovespa 150S (177) , '65 VBB, '66 Allstate SF, '66 180SS
UTC quote
I found that the rattle that came on when the clutch was disengaged on the LML motor ( with a DR 177) in the '64 150S was because the rivets on the backing plate of the drive gear were loose so I center-punched and peaned them tight and solid again. Should be fine. It has a 23 tooth gear that meshes with a 66 and has 7 springs. I've been running this motor for about 12 years and only replaced the corks a few years ago.

Considering a replacement, I assumed the P200/Rally200 clutch or drive gear would be the one but it doesn't say how many teeth they have. I see SIP ( Cosa) clutches with 23 gears but I don't think I need a performance clutch in the bike. Maybe I am wrong...

I see what are listed as stock Stella replacements but one has 21 teeth and the other 22. The this crate motor I bought came with a 23.

I also found this : "DRT LF Clutch Drive Gear with 23T 7-spring". It also states : " This gear is compatible with 67 and 68 tooth primary gears and is for use in a 7 spring clutch. " and this confuses me. How can two gears with different tooth count mesh properly with another gear ? This just seems wrong to me as I thought the pitch,count, diameter, and spacing were fixed for a particular gear match. And, why, if it has 23 teeth, isn't it listed as being compatible with the 66 like the one I have ?

On another note, there is a slight amount of wear on the thick spacer washer where it contacts the gear. Can I flip it over ? Does it really matter which way the tiny bevel faces ?

Thanks.
@v_oodoo avatar
UTC

Style Maven
'74 50s x3 '87 PK125XL '92 PK50XLS Plurimatic - & - '58 AllState '68 Sprint '66(?) Super125 and '72 DanMotor Super150

Style Maven
@v_oodoo avatar