OP
UTC

Lurker
ET2

Lurker
ET2
UTC quote
Hi, I'm a newbie to this forum. I ride a Piaggio Vespa ET2 (and commute all year round) and just trying to get some clarity on which fuel I should be using. While E10 seems to be the most common, it seems that my 50cc scooter should be using E5 which is the equivalent of the more expensive super unleaded. It wont make that much difference when filling up my small tank, but with is being less available than E10, I don't want to risk engine problems if I can only use E5.

Looking at the Gov.UK website, it says that Piaggio recommend using E5 for 50cc models but they haven't published a definitive list yet.

Has anyone actually used E10 on a 50cc ET2 and have you experienced any problems? Thanks in advance.
@jakem avatar
UTC

Addicted
Vespa Sprint Sport S 125cc

Addicted
@jakem avatar
Vespa Sprint Sport S 125cc
UTC quote
This website mentions a few modifications that can be done - including using different hoses for the fuel system; https://www.hagerty.co.uk/articles/maintenance-and-gear/everything-you-need-to-know-about-using-e10-fuel-with-your-classic-car/

It also mentions that cars from 2011 have had to be able to run E10 fuel. I assume this would be the same for bikes as well?

It would be interesting to know if Italy uses E5 or E10 petrol.
@petercc avatar
UTC

Molto Verboso
Piaggio Beverly 300 ie - 2012

Molto Verboso
@petercc avatar
UTC quote
JakeM wrote:
This website mentions a few modifications that can be done - including using different hoses for the fuel system; https://www.hagerty.co.uk/articles/maintenance-and-gear/everything-you-need-to-know-about-using-e10-fuel-with-your-classic-car/

It also mentions that cars from 2011 have had to be able to run E10 fuel. I assume this would be the same for bikes as well?

It would be interesting to know if Italy uses E5 or E10 petrol.
Italy uses both E10 and E5 as everywhere in the EU.
Now if Piaggio does not recommend using E10 on its 50cc models, I would run it on E5.