OP
UTC

Lurker
Primavera

Lurker
Primavera
UTC quote
Hi everyone.

Stupidly I dropped my Vespa, and I know it's part of owning a scooter for things to happen.

I also know that probably more scratches will happen and so don't want to bring it to the shop just yet.

Wondering what are the steps I need to take to touch it up myself. I ordered the touch up paint but I'm still confused.

Do I sand it first? (Any recommendations on the size of the sand paper?)

Do I paint afterwards? Anything else needed?

Please advise. Total noob here. Thanks in advance!
Forum member supplied image with no explanatory text
@breaknwind avatar
UTC

Ossessionato
Red Devil SH150i (10,000)

Ossessionato
@breaknwind avatar
Red Devil SH150i (10,000)
UTC quote
Welcome.
YouTube has plenty of vids on painting. You'll learn that you should ride your scoot until you're no longer a noob. Then you can have a pro do it or buy a new bike and use this scoot as a beater.
I learned that if you don't clear coat the whole bike(or section) after the touch up, you'll have problems with adhesion. Paint doesn't stick to cured paint unless you sand the surface with 600-800 grit. The edges of the touch up won't be happy or look the way you want it. We are our own worst critics.
I'm thinking crash bars on the new bike
@wleuthold avatar
UTC

Veni, Vidi, Posti
2006 Vespa GT (Rocket): 2005 Vespa GT (Razzo): 2007 Vespa GT (Vanessa): 2009 Yamaha Zuma 125: 2018 Yamaha Xmax (Big Ugly), 2023 Vespa GTS300 (Ghost)

Veni, Vidi, Posti
@wleuthold avatar
2006 Vespa GT (Rocket): 2005 Vespa GT (Razzo): 2007 Vespa GT (Vanessa): 2009 Yamaha Zuma 125: 2018 Yamaha Xmax (Big Ugly), 2023 Vespa GTS300 (Ghost)
UTC quote
Rocket fell over after I parked it in gravel.

It was maybe one year old at the time.

The gravel scratched it up real good.

I never repaired it.

That was almost 15 years ago.

The scratches didn't dampen the joy I get out of riding at all.

Your scrape looks minor.

I had a similar one on my Xmax.