OP
@michiganmafia avatar
UTC

2009 Vespa LX50

@michiganmafia avatar
2009 Vespa LX50
UTC quote
Hi all,

Recently picked up a 2009 Vespa LX 50. Clean little bike, but it is slower than a pregnant turtle. It sllllooooowwwwllyy climbs up to 25 mph. Engine seems to run clean, it just feels really slow, so I'm thinking the throttle cable maybe incorrectly adjusted, but I'm new to scooters. I do have 3 motocross bikes, but I'm new to the scooters and any where to start trouble shooting from this group would be appreciated.
@oscarsass avatar
UTC

Hooked

Hooked
@oscarsass avatar
UTC quote
Michiganmafia wrote:
Hi all,

Recently picked up a 2009 Vespa LX 50. Clean little bike, but it is slower than a pregnant turtle. It sllllooooowwwwllyy climbs up to 25 mph. Engine seems to run clean, it just feels really slow, so I'm thinking the throttle cable maybe incorrectly adjusted, but I'm new to scooters. I do have 3 motocross bikes, but I'm new to the scooters and any where to start trouble shooting from this group would be appreciated.
There were two stroke versions, and four stroke (LX4 50). Not familiar with exact dates, or regions.

Which is yours?
UTC

Veni, Vidi, Posti

Veni, Vidi, Posti
UTC quote
Lx50s are slow, no getting around it. You could throw a lot of money at it and then it will be semi-slow. There are good for flat ground, inter-city, 25 to 30 mph roads. Any hills will kill it. The ET2 models were 2 stroke, quicker and easy to mod for quicker acceleration. My 2 cents: if you want a faster Vespa, move up to a 150 model, rather than doing any mods to your LX50.
@seamus26 avatar
UTC

Ossessionato
1979 P200E (sold) / ZNEN Amore 150 (sold) / Genuine Buddy 170i / Genuine Stella 4T /Aprilia Sportcity One 50

Ossessionato
@seamus26 avatar
1979 P200E (sold) / ZNEN Amore 150 (sold) / Genuine Buddy 170i / Genuine Stella 4T /Aprilia Sportcity One 50
UTC quote
I have a 2009 Sportcity 50. I believe the driveline is almost identical.