UTC

Enthusiast
61 VBA

Enthusiast
@plantguy avatar
61 VBA
UTC quote
Hey all - random question & nerd alert. Nerd emoticon

Is there a good place to dive deeper into the tuning calculations behind our awesome beasts? I know there have been some epic threads about tuning but I'd love to start with the basics and most calculators seem to be not used / out of date by a few decades.

I am diving into the Gordon Jennings Tuner's Handbook and a few SAE whitepapers about tuning but this raises as many questions as it answers for the uninitiated (this guy).

For example, calculating Gmax (piston speed) for a 177cc setup seems to give answers that don't line up with suggested ranges to minimizing ring flutter by quite a bit. For a 2mm ring, the Jennings chart suggests ~65k ft / sec^2, I'm getting more than double that from the calc.

Are we using different charts? Is Gmax / piston speed not as relevant? It seems pretty key for longevity but I'm still learning the sensitivity on two-strokes so maybe the calibration is just in my head?
Gmax Formula
Gmax Formula
UTC

Jet Eye Master
PX221 MHR, O tuned PX200, PX125 and some motorbikes

Jet Eye Master
UTC quote
If you are stuck in the 1970s the max rpm for a 2mm iron ring is very important. 50 years on, we have 1mm trapezoidal chromoly rings, now nobody cares.
@garncarz avatar
UTC

Molto Verboso
1964 Allstate Cruisaire, 2022 Husqvarna Vitpilen 401, 1972 Suzuki T500J

Molto Verboso
@garncarz avatar
1964 Allstate Cruisaire, 2022 Husqvarna Vitpilen 401, 1972 Suzuki T500J
UTC quote
Using my 125 engine as a guinea pig, I get 46,468.1 ft/sec2. This is piston acceleration, not speed. I think you are inverting the ratio for A.
OP
@plantguy avatar
UTC

Enthusiast
61 VBA

Enthusiast
@plantguy avatar
61 VBA
UTC quote
garncarz wrote:
Using my 125 engine as a guinea pig, I get 46,468.1 ft/sec2. This is piston acceleration, not speed. I think you are inverting the ratio for A.