OP
UTC

Vespa 2005 GT200L

Vespa 2005 GT200L
UTC quote
I replaced the air filter on my low miles 2005 GT 200 a few days ago with a friend who is an experienced gear head / race car driver. I bought this Vespa at 2800 miles from a fastidious owner and it only has about 4600 on it now. I'm a newbie and trying to learn to care for my scoot and this question is super basic.

When we took the bulbs out at the bottom , a lot of oil drained out - about 1/3 cup. The old filter didn't look too good either. There was a patch at the top where the foam had disintegrated and was missing. And it looked like the filter was wicking oil in from the bottom. When we went to install the new filter, my friend tucked the edges of the filter down into the inner "tray" so it was somewhat dome shaped instead of setting the filter flat and laying across the small 1/4" channel between the outer edge of the air filter box and the inner tray.

When we had tried to put the cover back on without tucking it in, the foam was preventing the box from closing and even with 1 of us holding the lid tight against the body of the air box we couldn't get the two halves to snug up. He said that the box may have warped from heat and that in any case, it didn't make sense to have the filter go to the edge of the air box because the outer channel serves as the reservoir where the excess oil accumulates and it just wicks the oil into the filter and subjects the engine to it. We used a premium filter from a Vespa dealership for the GT so we know it was right size.

My question is, should I take the air box cover off and try again without tucking the edge of the filter down or just leave it? We looked at how the air flowed thru the box and thought tucking the edges down inside the inner tray still served the purpose of filtering the air. Vespa ran fine after installation.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts...
Old air filter.
Old air filter.
@vintagescooterdude avatar
UTC

Hooked
2006 GT200 2009 Genuine Stella