@paluss avatar
UTC

Hooked
GTS300

Hooked
@paluss avatar
GTS300
UTC quote
I rode my motorcycle for the first time yesterday (in 3 months), and it actually felt a bit weird to ride, it felt loud, slow to turn, and just not fun.

So a little background, I have been riding motorcycles constantly since 1990. I have owned 4 BMW K-bikes, and 4 Harleys (currently have a street glide CVO), have ridden over 200K miles on BMWs and over 150K on Harleys, including all but 8 states in the lower 48, and 2 Ironbutt events.

As motorcycles have gotten better, they isolated you more and more from the basic riding experience, and the Vespa gives me that old first motorcycle basic feel of riding a light nimble 2 wheeler on a nice twisty back road.

One of the reasons I bought the Vespa, was for a possible replacement for my motorcycle. So I'm on the fence of selling the Harley next spring if I dont start to ride it more often. Anyone else experience this????
@fledermaus avatar
UTC

Veni, Vidi, Posti
2007 LX150 2015 GTS (on the bench) 2017 BV 350

Veni, Vidi, Posti
@fledermaus avatar
2007 LX150 2015 GTS (on the bench) 2017 BV 350
UTC quote
Haven't myself, but I've seen a lot of similar comments over the years. Not everyone is giving up their MCs of course, but hey, it's a great thing to not have to feel badly about a planned tradeoff, no?

Oh, and to answer the original question, yes.
@kz1000st avatar
UTC

Molto Verboso
Dongfang 170cc, CF Moto Fashion 250

Molto Verboso
@kz1000st avatar
Dongfang 170cc, CF Moto Fashion 250
UTC quote
That's why my bikes are oldies. No isolation and all the experience. Tomorrow I'll be leaving for Americade and be seeing all the CVO's on trailers and pickups. My 40 year old Kawasaki will just be soaking up the miles with a smile.
@rrider avatar
UTC

Ossessionato
Triumph Bonneville 2022, Triumph Street Scrambler 2018 (sold), Suzuki VanVan200 (sold), 2015 Sprint 125 (sold)

Ossessionato
@rrider avatar