OP
UTC

Lurker
primavera

Lurker
primavera
UTC quote
I am new to all this but at the ripe age of 62 just really want to have fun on a Vespa .... the easy option is a 50 cc primavera but would i really regret this and should i do my CBT and get a 125 cc? i only intend to wander around locally for fun in the summer!
@jimc avatar
UTC

Moderaptor
The Hornet (GT200, aka Love Bug) and 'Dimples' - a GTS 300

Moderaptor
@jimc avatar
The Hornet (GT200, aka Love Bug) and 'Dimples' - a GTS 300
UTC quote
Get the CBT anyway, as you'll pick up some vital life-saving tips! So you might as well get a 125 - the 50 cc will be frustratingly slow (and perhaps hazardous) at times, especially in town traffic that'll nipping along at 40 mph.
UTC

Enthusiast

Enthusiast
UTC quote
I went for an older 2 stroke 50 as they tend to have a bit more grunt.
For around town it is great. Gets away from lights quick enough and goes fast enough to keep up with traffic , even up the hills.
The limiting factor for speed is the state of the roads with small wheels and speed cameras. Around the local area I don't think I would get anywhere quicker on a 125 and either would be quicker than in a car most of the time.
On A and B roads with 60mph limits then I definitely would prefer a bit more speed but I found it fine on the occasions I go on them.
Had mine 2 years and definitely don't regret it. The advantage of no tests and cheap insurance outweighs the few instances where I would want to go a bit quicker.
Plus the wife has a 50 (and doesn't want anything faster) so when we go out on them together (which accounts for most of the longer trips) i wouldn't be going any faster anyway.
I use mine all the time and rarely use the car now. Where I am parking is free for motorcycles and it's surprising how much shopping you can fit on and in a Vespa!
@rrider avatar
UTC

Ossessionato
Triumph Bonneville 2022, Triumph Street Scrambler 2018 (sold), Suzuki VanVan200 (sold), 2015 Sprint 125 (sold)

Ossessionato