OP
UTC

GTR / P125X

GTR / P125X
UTC quote
Hello all,

I have a few questions on how to get my vespa running right. Background is that I have my first Vespa which I have rebuilt so not really sure what it should sound like. In any case I feel like something is not quite right.

Its a P125x from 1981 which I got with little history. It had a battery, but now it doesn't as someone sold me the wrong loom. It also has electronic ignition, so not points (not electric start).

When I got it it had a polini 177 kit on it, which I have removed. It also had the oil metering device deactivated with a bearing stuck in the tube. It also had a 116 main jet installed.

When I rebuilt I replaced everything that looked like it needed replacing such as seals and bearings. I got a used cylinder and head got a brand new piston also. Oil pump is activated and I have replaced the 116 main jet with a 96 (i read somewhere that should close to original.

Now. Please bear in mind I have little experience with these types of engines, or others practically speaking. I have been trying to tune the carb, but something is not quite right.

Engine was running and i could drive around, but the bike would vibrate like hell at higher revs and power seemed to be very poor I was struggling to get to 60kmph. I re-attached the exhaust and now its much much better, so its better sealed, now i can get to 60kmph in 3rd gear, which is loads better.

Now- the idling wonders all over the place. it goes ok for a bit then it wonders. I also hear a ticking sound when it is idling and a hissing. When I put the mixture screw all the way in it doesn't cut out, it just gets faster. after about 2 or 3 turns out it doesnt make any further difference to the ticking over.