@topskanker avatar
UTC

Hooked
GT200

Hooked
@topskanker avatar
GT200
UTC quote
I figured for sure there would be some topic posted by another paranoid newbie but after looking in the search function for "rain riding" I, to my surprise, didn't find anything. Anywho, Looks like I may need to ride home in the rain for the first time tomorrow and I really don't want to. I have been riding for 4 months now and riding in the rain just does not compute in my mind. How can a 300lb 2 wheeler stay upright on slippery, cold roads? I would appreciate any words of wisdom/"don't do this" type comments as well as words of encouragement. Peace.
@masala avatar
UTC

Veni, Vidi, Posti

Veni, Vidi, Posti
@masala avatar
UTC quote
I asked nearly the same question to a long-time motorcycle riding friend of mine when I bought my motorcycle. He told me, "It may not seem like it, but you just have to trust that the grip is there."

He was right.

Just keep in mind that it's still soft rubber on rough pavement - not ice.
@genie avatar
UTC

Gobshite Shiva
Kymco Downtown 300i the 'Dolphin Noise'

Gobshite Shiva
@genie avatar
Kymco Downtown 300i the 'Dolphin Noise'
@greg531 avatar
UTC

Molto Verboso
63 GL 150, 05 Typhoon, 09 Beo 200

Molto Verboso
@greg531 avatar
63 GL 150, 05 Typhoon, 09 Beo 200
UTC quote
I just take everything slower....
Do not tailgate.....
Take your time.....
Wait for the rain to let up a bit....
Ride with a full face, to keep rain off the face...
Buy a windowshield....
Watch out for cagers that cannot/will not stop...
Bring along a towel to wipe everything off
Have a cover for your bike and or seat....or covered parking...
Keep rainpants and rainsuit along....

Nothing wrong with a little rain, as long as your carefull, downpours are no fun though....
@oldswimcoach avatar
UTC

Molto Verboso
Vespa GT 200, Harley Electra Glide Ultra

Molto Verboso
@oldswimcoach avatar
Vespa GT 200, Harley Electra Glide Ultra
UTC quote