OP
UTC

Enthusiast
01 ET4
Joined: UTC
Posts: 75
Location: Hollywood
 
Enthusiast
01 ET4
Joined: UTC
Posts: 75
Location: Hollywood
UTC quote
I am hooking up:

- garage door opener (https://modernvespa.com/forum/topic37512)
- voltmeter
- a pair of spot lamps
- cigarette lighter (not a 12v accessory outlet - well, thats on the bike but not an accessory in question)

they are all going to be on relays and only on when the bike is on.

Is this what the wiring is supposed to look like?

http://www.djstonerokk.com/vespa/wiring.jpg

thanks for all your help!!!
OP
UTC

Enthusiast
01 ET4
Joined: UTC
Posts: 75
Location: Hollywood
 
Enthusiast
01 ET4
Joined: UTC
Posts: 75
Location: Hollywood
UTC quote
or maybe my voltmeter doesnt need a relay.

this is the wiring diagram from the instructions:

www.djstonerokk.com/vespa/voltmeter.jpg

thanks again!!
@snapshot05 avatar
UTC

WHOoligan
1985 PX200E Arcobaleno : 2010/14 GTS300 S: RIP GTS250 @ 40K
Joined: UTC
Posts: 6695
Location: Los Angeles Kings, Stanley Cup Champions X2
 
WHOoligan
@snapshot05 avatar
1985 PX200E Arcobaleno : 2010/14 GTS300 S: RIP GTS250 @ 40K
Joined: UTC
Posts: 6695
Location: Los Angeles Kings, Stanley Cup Champions X2
UTC quote
djstonerokk wrote:
or maybe my voltmeter doesnt need a relay.

this is the wiring diagram from the instructions:

www.djstonerokk.com/vespa/voltmeter.jpg

thanks again!!
.
I have two accessory lights on my scoot, and the battery drains power like a drunk getting free booze. I rarely use them because the charging system is weak.

But I dont have mine running off a relay.
OP
UTC

Enthusiast
01 ET4
Joined: UTC
Posts: 75
Location: Hollywood
 
Enthusiast
01 ET4
Joined: UTC
Posts: 75
Location: Hollywood
UTC quote
snapshot05 wrote:
djstonerokk wrote:
or maybe my voltmeter doesnt need a relay.

this is the wiring diagram from the instructions:

www.djstonerokk.com/vespa/voltmeter.jpg

thanks again!!
.
I have two accessory lights on my scoot, and the battery drains power like a drunk getting free booze. I rarely use them because the charging system is weak.

But I dont have mine running off a relay.
I dont really want to run the lights constantly. its more to add to the aesthetics of the bike. but i want them to work AND id like for them to be wired properly.

anyone have any input on whether my wire plan is on point or not!?

thanks!!
@snapshot05 avatar
UTC

WHOoligan
1985 PX200E Arcobaleno : 2010/14 GTS300 S: RIP GTS250 @ 40K
Joined: UTC
Posts: 6695
Location: Los Angeles Kings, Stanley Cup Champions X2
 
WHOoligan
@snapshot05 avatar
1985 PX200E Arcobaleno : 2010/14 GTS300 S: RIP GTS250 @ 40K
Joined: UTC
Posts: 6695
Location: Los Angeles Kings, Stanley Cup Champions X2
UTC quote
I didnt realize your scoot was an ET, I dont know anything about the ET series. You might want to hit up moderator Jimc, I think he was an electrical engineer, he seems to know his stuff.

Good luck

Let me know how it turns out.


Manny
@starreem avatar
UTC

Ossessionato
07 GTS250(RIP), 13 GTS300, Several Lambrettas
Joined: UTC
Posts: 2803
Location: Raleigh, NC
 
Ossessionato
@starreem avatar
07 GTS250(RIP), 13 GTS300, Several Lambrettas
Joined: UTC
Posts: 2803
Location: Raleigh, NC
UTC quote
Why all the relays if you're adding new switches as well? Are the switches you're using not rated for the load you're trying to switch?
OP
UTC

Enthusiast
01 ET4
Joined: UTC
Posts: 75
Location: Hollywood
 
Enthusiast
01 ET4
Joined: UTC
Posts: 75
Location: Hollywood
UTC quote
starreem wrote:
Why all the relays if you're adding new switches as well? Are the switches you're using not rated for the load you're trying to switch?
switches are not rated.
@jimc avatar
UTC

Moderaptor
The Hornet (GT200, aka Love Bug) and 'Dimples' - a GTS 300
Joined: UTC
Posts: 43630
Location: Pleasant Hill, CA
 
Moderaptor
@jimc avatar
The Hornet (GT200, aka Love Bug) and 'Dimples' - a GTS 300
Joined: UTC
Posts: 43630
Location: Pleasant Hill, CA
UTC quote
The voltmeter and the garage door opener do not need relays, they take sweet FA in terms of current. The others are better off with relays.

Otherwise the wiring looks good to me.
@timbit avatar
UTC

Molto Verboso
Fly 150, 2006 black
Joined: UTC
Posts: 1067
Location: Toronto, Canada
 
Molto Verboso
@timbit avatar
Fly 150, 2006 black
Joined: UTC
Posts: 1067
Location: Toronto, Canada
UTC quote
Why not use just one relay?
What you drew will work, but it seems like a lot of redundancy.
OP
UTC

Enthusiast
01 ET4
Joined: UTC
Posts: 75
Location: Hollywood
 
Enthusiast
01 ET4
Joined: UTC
Posts: 75
Location: Hollywood
UTC quote
Timbit wrote:
Why not use just one relay?
What you drew will work, but it seems like a lot of redundancy.
unsure.

but this seemed to make trouble shooting easy in the event that i need to.
jimc wrote:
The voltmeter and the garage door opener do not need relays, they take sweet FA in terms of current. The others are better off with relays.

Otherwise the wiring looks good to me.
thank you sire!
⬆️    About 4 months elapsed    ⬇️
@bj_villiers avatar
UTC

Addicted
GTV
Joined: UTC
Posts: 634
Location: Burb of Buffalo, NY
 
Addicted
@bj_villiers avatar
GTV
Joined: UTC
Posts: 634
Location: Burb of Buffalo, NY
UTC quote
snapshot05 wrote:
djstonerokk wrote:
or maybe my voltmeter doesnt need a relay.

this is the wiring diagram from the instructions:

www.djstonerokk.com/vespa/voltmeter.jpg

thanks again!!
.
I have two accessory lights on my scoot, and the battery drains power like a drunk getting free booze. I rarely use them because the charging system is weak.

But I dont have mine running off a relay.
Manny, its getting time to hook up my fog lights, I really don't undertand my instructions that came with the HD kit. Each lamp has one wire coming from it. They are supposed to be joined together and go to the switch as one wire. The supplied toggle switch comes with 2 prongs- one in the center, one on the side, If I go to the battery with the center like a cigarette socket don't the two coming from the lamps go to the other other prong. There is an inline fuse to the switch. But what is my ground wire ?
I asked the guy at the dealership and he said to know if the bike while running is charging the battery with the fog lights on put a volt meter on it.I'm not sure if it needs a relay, and being non electrically astue what the relay does. Will it amplifiy ? The way I will be set up is that the center light by the horn will be blocked by a bag. I don't think I should use this as a power source but I want to disconnect the bulb.
Based on you saying fog lights draw too much power I thought I'd ask.
DoubleGood Design banner

Modern Vespa is the premier site for modern Vespa and Piaggio scooters. Vespa GTS300, GTS250, GTV, GT200, LX150, LXS, ET4, ET2, MP3, Fuoco, Elettrica and more.

Buy Me A Coffee
 

Shop on Amazon with Modern Vespa

Modern Vespa is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com


All Content Copyright 2005-2024 by Modern Vespa.
All Rights Reserved.


[ Time: 0.0149s ][ Queries: 3 (0.0051s) ][ live ][ 313 ][ ThingOne ]