OP
@nick84 avatar
UTC

74 Primavera

@nick84 avatar
74 Primavera
UTC quote
I recently bought a 74 primavera body with various parts and am in the process of restoring and reassembling. I picked up a engine from a 50 special and am planning on running that in my primavera.

-Keep this in mind- I have limited knowledge of vespas, about three weeks into my scooter education.

What are the differences in the 50 special engine compared to the 125cc primavera? (other than the obvious) How far will I be from the Primavera 125 if I get a new 125cc piston/head and carb/exhaust for my 50 special?

I have found it impossible to find a battery side door for a late smallframe. Will I have to make my own?
OP
@nick84 avatar
UTC

74 Primavera

@nick84 avatar
74 Primavera
UTC quote
Here is the body.
Forum member supplied image with no explanatory text
OP
@nick84 avatar
UTC

74 Primavera

@nick84 avatar
74 Primavera
UTC quote
and the engine
@greasy125 avatar
UTC

Sergeant at Arms
Weird 80's Vespas & Cool Vintage Lambrettas

Sergeant at Arms
@greasy125 avatar
UTC quote
50 to 125 you need:

cyl kit*
cyl studs & hardware
125 shroud
crank
primary gearing

on the cyl kit, you need the complete deal-- including the head. and if you're going to get a kit you might as well bump it up and get a performance kit like a DR, athena or olympia.

on the primary a V90 or 100 sport or 125 should be fine

crank, the V50 electrics and flywheel are small taper, so you'll be fine with any small taper cranks. i'd recommend a mazz or something decent.

you'll also want to upgrade your intake/carb and exhaust. depending on what your budget is and what kit you are running you can go with stock 19/19 pieces or aftermarket and pretty much any pipe will work.

i have alot of used pieces and new parts to do conversion so hit me up if you need.

best,
-greasy
@brandonpx avatar
UTC

Addicted
74 Rally 200. 79 P-whatever

Addicted
@brandonpx avatar
UTC quote