OP
@janik avatar
UTC

2010 GTS 250

@janik avatar
2010 GTS 250
UTC quote
After riding in rain for a couple of minutes, water from the bottom of the windshield (the large Vespa one) starts dripping into my lap . I was thinking of taking some tube, making a cut in it, and putting it over the edge starting from the steering column end, so that the outer end would continue down and out when the edge goes up.

The drips from the windshield would hopefully go all the way to the edge instead of making me wet. With the right kind of tube, you could take it off when it's shining, and keep it in your pet carrier with your rain pants.

One second, I'll make a shitty drawing...

External inline image provided by member with no explanatory text

The red thing on the top right is a cross section of the tube (which would obviously be clear in real life). On the bottom of the windshield you can see, where it'd go.

Has anyone tried anything like this? Did it work at all? Can you believe I am not a professional artist or illustrator?
@witch avatar
UTC

Moderatrice Strega

Moderatrice Strega
@witch avatar
UTC quote
I had something similar happen the first time I rode in the rain with my huge Vespa screen. Except the drops were falling on me from the outside edges, before the curve down towards the handlebars. To be fair, it was one of those extremely shitty days with half rain, half mist, so it probably would have happened regardless of what kind of screen I had. I did think it was an odd place for the droplets to fly off of.

The GTV's large OEM screen curves down under the headset though, so no chance of the exact same scenario as your GTS's. Sounds like you've got a decent solution if you can make it work right!
UTC

Banned

Banned
UTC quote
It's not much help during the summer,
but you can avoid this problem in cold rain
by fastening a lap blanket to your scooter
UTC

Hooked
07 Genuine Buddy 125 and 09 Sym RV250

Hooked
07 Genuine Buddy 125 and 09 Sym RV250
UTC quote