OP
UTC

Hooked
MP3 500 Sport Touring LT - grey

Hooked
UTC quote
Hello everyone,

Apart from a few light-hearted posts, I'm new to this forum, and have never ridden pillion let alone driven a scooter or motorbike in my entire life. So, I feel the need to explain myself, and hope that in return that you might answer a few of my myriad questions in return.

I'm a junior doctor, hoping if I ever pull my finger out to eventually qualify as a surgeon. Now, here in the UK, doing such a job is fulfilling but not a path to riches. Despite this, last year I received some money which allowed me to buy a special car - a Jaguar XFR. A silly, spendthrift thing to do, I agree, but it is something truly special that I would likely never have the opportunity to buy (family, responsibilities etc.) ever again. So, whilst a stupid buy, I love it and hope to keep it for 10 years at a minimum. People might think I am cool or a prat for driving it, but I regard it for what it is - a superb form of transport that for the first time in a long time blows the German offerings out of the water on merit rather than marginally xenophobic nostalgia.

But, I have a problem that I hope to solve. Firstly, I can not comfortably afford paying the petrol for this car when it costs almost £80 to fill up for only 200+ miles. Secondly, my post in a couple of months will move to an inner city hospital, and I'm not sure that I can trust a car that I can't afford to lose to the car park there. I have already heard, asking around, of cars being broken into, and a recent trip to a nearby Staples suggested that the car park might have a thing or two learn from Baghdad c. 2006. In addition to the cratered surface, broken bottles and fence/wall that looked like someone had driven through it, there was a dirty mattress sitting nonchalantly right in the middle of it. So, I think that a nimble, cheap to run and insure form of city transport is in order.